Skip to content

songs that help me…

March 7, 2009

I don’t know about you, but there are very few things in this world that can get me out of my own head more effectively than music written and sung to the Lord.

The past two days have been a fresh reminder of how weak my frame is when measured against the strength of my fears.  My mind and heart were everywhere.  Moments of peace and calm interspersed with moments of paralyzing fear that took my breath away.  This definitely wasn’t the first time I have felt this way and it will not be the last.

While my racing thoughts felt like they were running the show, my spirit was aching to rest in the living God.

What helped?  What rushed in and lifted my head to the throne of a prayer-hearing God?

Songs.

The gift of good music is such an undeserved pleasure that God gives his children.

I think He knows we need it.

Here is one of my favorite songs that gets me out of my head and on to Christ:

A few others would be:

“Mighty to Save”

“How Firm a Foundation”

“Jesus Paid it All”

“On Christ the Solid Rock”

“O Come, O Come Emmanuel”

What are some of yours?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2009 9:24 am

    I can personally attest that Hillsong’s “I Will Bring Praise” has been playing on an unbroken loop in our house for the past 36 hours or so. iTunes may get tired of playing it over and over again, but we don’t get tired of hearing it.

    Here’s my (much-abbreviated) list:

    Let Us Love and Sing and Wonder
    Everlasting God
    Great Are You (Downhere)
    Before the Throne of God Above
    Most Anything by Andrew Peterson, Shane and Shane, or Indelible Grace

    Your comment about the gift of good music reminded me of a sermon by Pastor John entitled “Ambushing Satan with Song” (from 1985!). It’s from 2 Chronicles 20, where the armies of Judah go out to battle with the singers as the tip of the sword. Give it a look.

    God-centered, musically-pleasing songs of praise are a remarkable gift and a powerful weapon in the fight of faith.

  2. njlaparra permalink
    March 7, 2009 10:21 am

    I imagine Jesus looking down in great pleasure when he sees us singing songs that display him as our one and only Treasure. Here are just a few of my favorites:

    – Jesus, Thank you
    – In Christ Alone
    – Mighty to Save
    – Revelation Song
    – Jesus Paid it all
    – Most anything by Shane and Shane (Joey, I very much agree)

  3. bethanleigh permalink
    March 7, 2009 3:28 pm

    -Before the Throne
    -Cling to the Crucified
    -How Sad Our State By Nature Is!
    -How Great Thou Art

  4. kat L permalink
    March 7, 2009 10:42 pm

    * Much agreed with Nick…Revelation Song!
    * Holy Holy Holy- Sufjan Stevens
    * What wondrous love is this…Kingsborough Hymns has a great version
    * On Christ the solid rock I stand
    * Come though Fount

  5. noelpiper permalink
    March 8, 2009 12:24 pm

    Right with you on “Mighty to Save”, that is one of my favorite songs!!
    Here are a few of my favorite songs:
    -Let your Kingdom Come(Sovereign Grace)
    – You are God Alone
    – Jesus Paid it All
    -The Look (Sovereign Grace)
    I have so many. But those are ones that have been my favorites forever!
    ~Talitha Piper

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,043 other followers

