Skip to content

people we love :: talitha piper

February 9, 2010

I have wanted to highlight some special people in our lives from time to time on my blog as a way of honoring them and expressing our love and gratitude for their friendship.  One special person who has been on my mind a lot recently is this lovely lady…

{Talitha and Sam on the day we brought him home from the hospital}

Meet Sam’s more responsible, mature, favored mom…Talitha Piper.  My child loves her!  Every time she walks downstairs to come and play with Sam, he instantly lights up and starts smiling, with an occasional flapping of the arms and legs.  Sam tries to impress her and make her giggle, which he always succeeds in doing. He loves her and so do we.

Having lived with Talitha for the past four years, I have grown to respect this young woman of God in ways that I tend to respect older and wiser women in my life.  I am thirteen years her senior and wish I was more like her.  She is kind and thoughtful, very generous and has a faith that you don’t see in many fourteen year old girls today.

Staying home full-time with Sam has allowed me and Talitha to spend more time together during the day.  I can always count on her coming down at least once a day to visit with us and this blesses me more than she knows, especially when we are snowed in and can’t get out much.

Talitha continually serves me with a glad heart.  For instance, she will bring us our mail everyday so we don’t have to go out in the snow and freeze to death.  She also regularly brings us homemade treats that she just made in her kitchen.  Talitha will also ask if she can fold a load of Sam’s laundry or help with the dishes or clean up Sam’s highchair after a slightly messy meal.

Talitha is considerate of Sam’s nap schedule and always comes down to ask when would be a good time to play the piano since she plays right above Sam’s room.  Just simple, thoughtful, kindness.  I wish I would have been more like her when I was fourteen. (Confession: I was probably too busy being cool and checking messages on my pager from people I’m probably not even friends with today.)

It is an honor to know this intelligent, beautiful, humble, funny, talented, gracious young woman and to watch her grow up in the Lord.  Joe and I love her a lot, but we know someone who might love her just a little bit more…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 2:02 pm

    Awwww!!! thanks Jenny!! I love being able to hang out with you, Joe and Sam!!

  2. John Piper permalink
    February 9, 2010 3:14 pm

    She has a good mother.

  3. February 9, 2010 7:15 pm

    In the bottom picture, I think Sam is stunned by her beauty! When did you get so old & grown-up looking Talitha?

  4. Marie permalink
    February 10, 2010 5:42 am

    How many 14 year olds have others “rise up and call her blessed”? May she continue in her mother’s example and some day hear her children and husband praise her. Jen, your encouragement and friendship are part of God’s investment in this special young lady. May ewe be richly blessed in that ministry.

  5. Deanna Gott permalink
    February 10, 2010 7:23 am

    Beautiful. You have inspired me to bless people more. I love the Pipers and I have never even met them. :)

  6. February 10, 2010 8:28 am

    Dear Jenny,

    Thanks for sharing this wonderful side of Talitha. I wish my four girls to have the same faith and spirit when they grow to be fourteen.

    May God bless your baby Sam, her caring friend, you and your husband.

    Love,

    Jennifer

  7. Susan permalink
    February 10, 2010 9:02 am

    aawwww…this is so precious! Where was Talitha when I needed her? What a gift! Noel I’m sorry I barely got to meet her when my husband and I spoke to you after John’s breakout session at Passion 2010. (I felt the “pressure” from the line of folks behind me, you movie star you :)
    Blessings from (COLD) Atlanta,
    Susan

  8. February 10, 2010 1:12 pm

    Lovely girl with a lovely family standing behind her. Your little boy is a real cutie too!

  9. February 10, 2010 3:26 pm

    I echo the sentiments spoken here, she has been loved, nurtured and trained by a godly mother. What a tribute to Talitha and Noel.
    You are blessed to have such a wonderful young woman in your life.

  10. Heidi permalink
    February 11, 2010 1:10 am

    Why am I sitting here crying…and I can’t stop.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,043 other followers

