Skip to content

our new house :: a little inspiration

June 12, 2010

We finalized the paint colors for our new home today!  It was a mentally exciting and daunting task.  I want a very, very light house, letting the decor bring color to the home instead of the walls.  This way, I will feel the freedom to change the look of the house without having to repaint an entire wall or room.  Can you tell I’ve lived in a basement for almost five years and haven’t had much sunlight?

Would you believe that I picked only three colors for our entire home! Three.  This is very uncharacteristic of me, so I was pretty proud of myself!

The kitchen, living room, and dining room will be a color called Rice Grain from Sherwin Williams.  We will be cutting the color by 50% to lighten things up!

We will have white cabinets and will be using fresh green ingredients as accents; limes, artichokes, avocados, green apples, fresh herbs, etc. We will be installing white bead board to lighten things up even more.

Here are the pictures that inspired the direction for our kitchen…

The bedrooms + study will be a very, very light gray called Repose Gray with Pure White ceilings, crown moulding, window trim and baseboards. Sam’s room will have orange accents and our room will have yellow accents.

Here is a glimpse of what I am talking about, minus the black accents…

Here is another glimpse of the gray + white duo I am hoping for, I love how light and clean everything looks…

The following pictures are ones that I have been coming back to again and again for more inspiration.  I love the vintage touches and hope to incorporate some of these ideas throughout our new home.


Hopefully by the end of the month we will have some before + after pictures to post!  I welcome all decorating ideas and suggestions from you as we attempt to make our first house into a home.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Anjel French permalink
    June 12, 2010 2:58 pm

    I think you are right about basement living and needing some “lightness”. I did all of our walls in a very light color like your and did the light gray in a few too. Isaac loves orange but I was not doing an entire bright orange room. Both the boys have more of a steel gray (slightly darker, than the other gray I used) and I told them they could have a stripe around their room in the color of their choosing….but I haven’t gotten to that stripe yet. Jason thinks all the wall colors are a little “beige” but I used bright accessories, curtains, rugs, etc. I love all the pictures and the vintage accessories. You do a great job decorating, I can’t wait to see pictures of the finished product. So I guess you guys bought a house??? Is it still downtown? I will be looking for the updates of the progress:) Have fun and congrats.

  2. Becky permalink
    June 12, 2010 3:40 pm

    Ok, now I wanna live with you! Seriously! All those colors and accents sound beautiful! Let me know if you need any help, ok? I am free most evenings! I’ll check in with you later :)

  3. June 12, 2010 4:35 pm

    I like your ideas, especially using the fresh green ingredients as accents in the kitchen. Have you checked out the blog How About Orange? It has some decorating ideas and DIY projects that might fit with your style.

  4. Jenn A permalink
    June 12, 2010 6:31 pm

    I like your picks! I recognize some of those inspiration pictures. What fun for you to be able to do this!

  5. kramerswife permalink
    June 12, 2010 9:59 pm

    love the inspiration photos. these are some of my favorite sites.

    our kitchen it white with beaded board and “fresh” green accents. i totally love it!

    can’t wait to see “before” and “after” pics. remodeling is so fun….most of the time:)

  6. Rick Way permalink
    June 15, 2010 3:45 pm

    HELLO KIDS……

    YOUR MOM TOLD ME I SHOULD CHECK OUT YOUR BLOGG…AND WOW ! SAM’S A GREAT LOOKING YOUNG MAN…AND CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR NEW HOME….IT SOUNDS VERY NEAT…..AND YOU SOUND VERY HAPPY….
    WHERE DO YOU FIND THE TIME FOR ALL THIS ? MUCH LOVE TO YOU THREE…….UNCLE RICKY

  7. Kristin Tabb permalink
    June 15, 2010 9:58 pm

    it’s fun to see the pictures of your ideas for your new home! i smiled when i saw how light all the colors were.

    love the banner at the top of your new blog! :)

    i finished the alphabet letters and gave them to JJ. he’s thrown them around the room several times now so i can tell he really likes them.

  8. January 21, 2011 11:56 pm

    Yay! You liked our kitchen! :-)
    I’m so glad I found your blog tonight. Can’t wait to read more posts!
    :-)

  9. therigneys permalink*
    January 22, 2011 12:51 pm

    Thanks, Layla! Your blog always inspires me! I met you at the Junk Bonanza this past Fall and was secretly hoping the couple you had picked to do the room makeover for would drop out! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,049 other followers

