Skip to content

people we love :: the andersons

June 15, 2010

I met Marian in the fall of my 7th grade year; she was two years older and about to enter her Freshmen year of high school.  A two-year age gap doesn’t seem like much of a difference now being 28 and 30, but back then, two years was enough to make her seem like she held all the wisdom in the world.  Ever since, she has been my laugh-until-you-pee-in-your-pants, more-like-a-sister,  best friend.

A few years prior to starting high school, Marian and her family packed up all their dreams in a few suitcases and moved from their life-long home in Argentina.  After sixteen years of friendship, I still thank the Lord for bringing her to the states, allowing our paths to cross and for knitting our hearts together.

Of the sixteen years that we have been friends, only four of those have been lived in the same city together. We have maintained a long-distance friendship since I was in the 11th grade. This is remarkable to me, a rare and precious bond that holds two friends together, miles and miles apart.

Marian met her husband while we were in high school together.  I knew about Neil through a mutual friend and had heard wonderful things about him. I casually told Marian one day during volleyball practice that I found her husband. His name was Neil. He loved Jesus. He sang and played the guitar. He played football. And he was perfect for her. I knew all of this, having never met him myself.

Almost four years later they were married.

Five months passed and my phone rang. I was a Sophomore in college and Marian was calling to tell me that she was pregnant with their first child.

A girl.

Antonella “Nelli” Reese would be her name.  The perfect blend of Argentina and the South.

Much to my surprise, I would be receiving three more similar phone calls over the next five years…

Jeremiah James.

Samuel Matthias.

Augustine John.

One girl.

Three boys.

All born to the happiest mother I know.

I love this family and I wanted to capture them doing what they love to do…reading, playing, laughing and eating!

************************************************

For more posts on ‘people we love’: Talitha Piper and Our Small Group

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Nancy Wilson permalink
    June 16, 2010 5:29 am

    Jenny, all I can say is wow. Wow,wow,wow,wow,wow!! I love this story of you and Marian (and why don’t I remember Marian? Did she go to Bay Area?), and I have to say this, though it is very very difficult as a grandmama of six absolutely over the top gorgeous grandkiddo’s, these four children are simply breathtaking! Your photo’s make their personalities ooze from the page. You are really a spectacular photographer. I am captivated by them. Bella, bella my dear! Thank you for all the enjoyment you give me through your written word and through your pictures. I am a faithful reader.

  2. June 16, 2010 8:38 am

    such a beautiful family!

  3. June 16, 2010 9:02 am

    Jen, your photos are incredible! You know where to find us if you ever want another family to practice your photography skills on! :)

  4. June 16, 2010 9:57 am

    Thanks so much, Nancy! Yes! Marian went to Bay Area, that’s where we met…

    Your grandkids ARE beautiful and I’d love to take pictures of them one day for their proud grandma!

  5. Rebecca Cedillo permalink
    June 16, 2010 5:48 pm

    Beautiful! What skill, my friend.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,049 other followers

