Skip to content

sam’s 1st birthday party :: in pictures

June 26, 2010

This past week, we have been celebrating Sam’s 1st birthday!

On his actual birthday, we (Joe, me, and my mom) took him out to breakfast at Maria’s and then headed to the zoo!  We had a wonderful day celebrating our little guy. The following day, we picked up my dad at the airport so he would be here for Sam’s party the following day.

We planned to have Sam’s party outside in the backyard, but due to the bad weather the night before and the predicted bad weather during his party, we made a last minute decision to move everything indoors just to be safe.  Since our basement wouldn’t hold the people we invited, we celebrated in the Piper’s living/dining room.  The most special part of the day was when Pastor Sam prayed  over Sam before he ate his cake.  Little Sam has no idea how blessed he is to have pastors like Big Sam pray for him.

My favorite and most fun part of planning Sam’s birthday party was the opportunity to make some special things for him.  I love homemade birthday crafts, so I gave it a try and made the table cloths (super easy and took about 30 minutes), birthday banner, Sam’s birthday onesie that he wore, the cupcakes and the cupcake toppers!  The cupcake toppers were by far one of the most enjoyable things to make.  I don’t have a lot of experience decorating cupcakes, but this was so much fun that I can’t wait to do it again.  I think planning little kid’s birthday parties for a living would be one of my top 20 dream jobs.

We shared the day with a bunch of our special friends here in Minnesota, but we missed celebrating with so many of our close friends and family from Texas on this special occasion.  In an effort to include you all, here are some pictures I snapped throughout the day…

We had cupcakes and coke & root beer floats…

Our birthday boy when he first got a glimpse of this…

Sam and his Sassy…

Sam walking to his Papa…

My child was pretty hesitant when it came to eating the chocolate cake.  My child! I’d like to know who switched him at birth?

a little help from daddy…

Off to get cleaned up and changed…

It never ended up raining, so towards the end we all moved outside to let the kids play in what turned out to be the hit of the party, the water table…

The Jabbours, Scharfs and Tabbs

Jenna Scheetz and Sam

Anna Bramble, Becky Laparra and Sarah DeWire

Abraham, Molly, Twin A and Twin B Piper

Micah Jabbour and Orison Piper

Jillian Scheetz, she’s a ham- just like her mother.

Bryan, Sarah and baby DeWire

After clean-up, we went our for pizza with my parents to a wonderful little Italian restaurant and Sam slept the entire time in his car seat. His birthday party wiped him out, and his parents too!  Thanks to everyone who came to celebrate our little Sam’s first year of life!

And if you think I was kidding about wanting to plan little kid’s birthday parties for a living, I actually already know the theme for Sam’s 2nd birthday party… Dr.Seuss and “Sam I Am”!  We’ll see…

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2010 6:28 am

    We had so much fun at the party! The cupcakes and decorations were picture perfect – and so was the birthday boy. :)

  2. June 27, 2010 9:03 am

    what a cute party, Jenny! I wish I could’ve been there! Sam is gonna be so big when we get back home!

  3. Becky permalink
    June 27, 2010 12:36 pm

    Ok, PLEASE coordinate my child’s first bday party. PLEASE!!! :)

    You did such a wonderful job. It was beautiful. I’m so glad we came!

  4. Jenn A permalink
    June 27, 2010 6:59 pm

    It looks wonderful, Jenny! You did a great job! None of my kids dove into their first birthday cake like I wanted them to! Aiden didn’t even care about the cake, he just wanted the Tigger plate it was sitting on! =)

  5. betsy permalink
    June 29, 2010 12:07 pm

    What a gorgeous job you did, Jen! Looks like a wonderful time with everyone!! Wish so much we could have been there! We were thinking of ya’ll on Sam’s special day! Thanks for posting so many pics.

  6. Kate permalink
    June 29, 2010 12:13 pm

    Some ideas for your party next year: http://annies-eats.com/2010/06/28/andrews-second-birthday-party/

  7. kristin permalink
    July 1, 2010 8:01 am

    Thanks for posting pics! These are so sweet. Sam’s party was beautiful.

  8. Sandy Smith permalink
    July 1, 2010 5:37 pm

    Would this banner look good in a first grade classroom? Just kidding! I am so proud of you for being so creative. Where did all this creativity come from….your Dad?

  9. Jessica McAlpine permalink
    July 12, 2010 7:02 pm

    Wow, Jenny, I am so inspired by the birthday party you did for Sam. It makes me excited to plan for Kai’s party, in less than 5 months! =) You are so GOOD at that stuff. Did you make Sam’s little t-shirt?

  10. therigneys permalink*
    July 12, 2010 9:44 pm

    Jessica, Thanks so much! Yes, I did make Sam’s onesie. I’d be happy to show you how!

  11. Julie permalink
    September 21, 2010 3:55 pm

    What an amazing birthday! Did you make his outfit? If so, how? You are so talented!

  12. Aim permalink
    January 26, 2011 1:45 am

    Hiya! i was googling ‘first birthday party’ to get some idea for my son’s party this coming saturday and i’ve got lots of idea from looking at those photos you put up here. Thanks. What a nice party you held for him here. so impressive.

    Btw, a bit irrelevant but wonder where you get that world map from (i saw on the photo)? I would love to get one for my husband but have no idea where to find.

    Thanks.

  13. sharon permalink
    July 4, 2011 8:14 am

    Hi Jenny, do you sell the orange / green flags and the table cloth (for the center)? I love them….thinking about having green & orange as my son’s birthday party color (light blue and brown as an accent color)!

  14. emilie permalink
    October 24, 2012 12:48 pm

    these cupcake toppers are ADORABLE!! I want to make them for my sisters 40th…what sticks did you use to connect the pictures?

    • therigneys permalink*
      October 24, 2012 6:38 pm

      I broke bamboo skewers in half, worked great!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 990 other followers

