Skip to content

picking pumpkins + autumn apples

October 10, 2010

It is no secret that autumn is my most favorite time of the year.  There is just something about the air that feels so nostalgic to me.  I love everything about the season and have since I was a little girl.  Maybe because it was the first sign that Christmas was just around the corner?  I’m not sure.  I can remember telling my mother at a pretty young age that I wanted to get married in the fall, and it just so happens that Joe and I will be celebrating our fifth anniversary later this month.

I can honestly say that I never experienced a true fall until I moved to Minnesota.  But when you spend your whole life in Texas, you don’t have another fall to compare it to- so you love it just the same.

This weekend we went to Pine Tree Apple Orchard where they have the most beautiful apple trees, a large corn maze, and a lovely pumpkin patch.  This has become one of our favorite family traditions.

This little tradition involves sending my husband and son out into the wild to hunt down the best pumpkin they can find.  We were complete amateurs last year.  We knew virtually nothing about the art of picking a good pumpkin.  Do you know how crucial it is to find a pumpkin with a good stem ?  We didn’t know this little tidbit of information last year and we spent seven dollars to enjoy a pumpkin for 48 hours. (Quick!  Run to the grocery store to buy some carving pumpkins!)

We gave Sam two options and let him pick the one we were to take home.  Do you see how he is checking the stem?  Does this mother proud.

and the winner is…

My boys impersonating Field of Dreams

Sam’s favorite part of the day was collecting apples that had fallen from the trees.

Oh, now that was good…

Now, for the best part…

This is the recipe I will be making tomorrow morning from Smitten Kitchen.  I have made this recipe several times in the past year and it never disappoints.

Here is just a preview…

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky permalink
    October 10, 2010 6:53 pm

    I just loved these pictures! The one of Sam picking up the apples made me laugh out loud. And I especially love the one of Sam with his momma :) I think we’ll try to go there next year!

  2. October 10, 2010 7:00 pm

    Aak! Those are my favorite muffins in the world! You have good taste, my friend. :)

  3. Anjel French permalink
    October 10, 2010 7:05 pm

    Yea Jenny, you made it into a picture….and a very cute one:) Those muffins do look good.

  4. Sandy Smith permalink
    October 10, 2010 7:23 pm

    These are so cute! I love the one of him putting his head on the wooden box. Such great pictures and glad you were in one of them this time!

  5. Vicki Rogers permalink
    October 10, 2010 7:56 pm

    Jenny – LOVE the pictures! Sam is adorable! Fall is my favorite time of year also – always has been. There is an excitement and anticipation in the air…one of my favorite days of the year is going to Old Town Spring with your mom!

  6. Aunt Min permalink
    October 10, 2010 8:25 pm

    Love that your sweet face is in this post!

  7. October 12, 2010 10:13 am

    Is that what THE Jenny Rigney of the Rigney blog looks like? Oh my gosh she’s gorgeous!

  8. October 28, 2010 4:01 pm

    I LOVE the pic of you and Sam together! you look so pretty!
    I also love Sam’s “Oh now, that was good” picture!! SUPER cute!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,042 other followers

