Skip to content

pages from our wedding album, five years later

October 22, 2010

The details of our wedding day seem almost like a blur to me five years later.  I don’t remember too much, but I do remember being surrounded by hundreds of people that loved and supported us on a beautiful, Autumn day.  I also remember crying- a lot. We were headed to Minnesota the following day and nothing could have prepared us for the sadness we felt as we said goodbye to dear friends and family at our wedding reception.

One thing I will never forget about our wedding day was how nervous I was to stand up in front of the entire church and recite our vows.  My fear of public speaking coupled with my propensity to combine my words definitely didn’t ease my nerves.

When my dad was walking me down the aisle, I remember him reigning in my arm in hopes to slow me down.  I didn’t realize I was doing it at the time, but it was later explained to me as sprinting down the aisle!

I think somewhere in my anxious mind I knew that if I hurried down the aisle,  you would be there and everything would be okay.  Turned out to be quite the metaphor for our life together.  Everything has always been better with you by my side.

Today we celebrate five years since that beautiful day.  When I look back through our wedding pictures, a number of things come to mind: 1.) We thought we knew each other really well when we got married (which makes me laugh), 2.) I am not near as good of a wife as I thought I would be,  3.) I would give anything to have another piece of our out-of-this-world wedding cake. 4.) I had really high expectations for you as my husband and you have far exceeded them…

Oh, and 5.) We had a ridiculously large wedding party (staying true to Southern tradition I suppose)…

These past five years have been the happiest of my life.  They haven’t been without pain or trials or conflict to work through, but God has been merciful to us and we have experienced deep joy throughout every season.

Being your wife, Joe, is one of the greatest honors God has given me.  I am the blessed one in this marriage. My judgment is (and should be!) without a doubt biased, but I know you to be the most humble, gentle, self-sacrificing, handsome, patient, strong, understanding, wise, gracious, affectionate, kind, intelligent, forgiving, humorous, and gifted man, husband, and father on earth.  A man I feel unworthy, yet thankful, to call my husband.

I love and appreciate you more today than I did five years ago.  Makes me excited to see what year fifty might look like for us.

“And they shall be my people, and I will be their God.  I will give them one heart and one way, that they may fear me forever, for their own good and the good of their children after them.  I will make with them an everlasting covenant, that I will not turn away from doing good to them.  And I will put the fear of me in their hearts, that they may not turn from me.  I will rejoice in doing them good, and I will plant them in this land in faithfulness, with all my heart and all my soul.” Jeremiah 32: 38-41

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cathy Hipps permalink
    October 22, 2010 11:58 am

    Seems like it was just last week. Can’t believe it’s been 5 years. And now God has added Sam to your twosome. Fun years ahead!

  2. Meagan permalink
    October 22, 2010 1:06 pm

    Hi Jenny,
    So I have been blog stalking you for a while, so I thought it was time I outed myself. I went to school at BACS and was a year younger than you. I just love your blog. I stumbled upon your blog it via Jordan Ashby’s blog.

    Congrats on 5 years. You have a beautiful family.

    Meagan

  3. October 22, 2010 1:10 pm

    Oh and in case you need help remembering who I am I have a blog too with pictures.
    http://amjohnson3.blogspot.com/

  4. October 22, 2010 2:36 pm

    Happy Anniversary, Dear Rigs!! We love you!

    Wanna take a special 5-year anniversary trip to anywhere English??

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,039 other followers

