Skip to content

remembering God’s faithfulness today

October 29, 2010

Two years ago this morning, I remember being in a really, really low place emotionally and spiritually.  For years we had been asking God for a child without an answer, or at least not a desirable one.  Whether or not God even heard my prayers at this point seemed to be the recurring doubt.

That morning, I was beginning to believe that God was subjecting Joe and I to a life of continual pain, no respite, just deep, constant, take-your-breath-away, pain.  And up until that point that had been our experience, month after month after month after month.

What I didn’t know that morning, while in the middle of pouring out my complaints and tears before the Lord, was that my child’s heart was already beating inside of me.

Later that evening, I was cleaning our bathroom and found an almost empty box of pregnancy tests.  I honestly don’t know what compelled me to take one- I knew I wasn’t pregnant.  Perhaps after three years it just became some sort of habit?  You know, one of those must-pee-on-a-stick-every-time-I-see-a-toilet kind of habits.

Words fail when I try to describe the whirlwind of emotions that accompanied the two pink lines.  However, in all the disbelief and shock, it was as if the Lord was saying, I’ve heard you.

I’ve never shared the details behind our almost three-year struggle with infertility, but maybe one day I will.  Most of our friends and family know what we’ve walked through, but there’s a lot of you that don’t.  If our story could be of some encouragement to your faith, especially if you are facing something similar, then I’d resolve to overcome my hesitancy in getting too up-close and personal on these here internets.

So, why the main reason for this post?  Well, there are two:

1. Two years ago today, we learned that God had given us a child.  We want to remember this day and celebrate this day and thank God for displaying his power and grace in our lives through giving us Sam.  In many ways, this day signifies a shift that took place in our faith- a deepening of trust that has remained these past two years.  We hope you will praise the Lord with us today for answering our prayers.

2. We want more children.

We don’t know what the Lord has planned for our family, but our deep desire is for more children.  And while I’m at it, we would love more children soon!  There, I said it.

Joe and I are confident that Sam is here today not solely because of our prayers, but because we had a small army praying with us.  And when God answered those prayers, the rejoicing was that much greater because so many had interceded on our behalf.  It was a beautiful thing to share with the body of Christ.

So here we are.  Two years later and we’re asking God for more mercy and more power to overcome any medical obstacles and bless us with more children.  We are both acutely aware of how deep our need for grace and prayer runs if God is to add to the number of our family.  And while blogging is not the most comfortable platform to ask for such things, it most definitely is the easiest way to make our need for prayer known.

So, we humbly ask, would you please pray with us for another child?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky permalink
    October 29, 2010 8:27 am

    praying with you today. I love you guys!

  2. Robin Cook permalink
    October 29, 2010 8:31 am

    Yes, Jenny I will. Your story brought back painful memories of my struggle to find Cara. That miserable no, no, no, no answer to prayer month after month. After she was born, I realized that with each month that passed it was a different child, with a different personality…so if I had my will, I would have never known Cara. The second pregnancy was not as difficult.

  3. October 29, 2010 8:43 am

    Count me in the small army, J and J! Believing God with you.

  4. Karla permalink
    October 29, 2010 9:40 am

    I cried.
    It is my joy to join with you in your pleas to the Lord. Remember, when we are without words we have a Holy Spirit that intercedes for us with groanings far to deep for words.

  5. Amanda permalink
    October 29, 2010 10:27 am

    Just last night I was overcome with gratitude as I held our little Anna in my arms. I knew that there were so many of our friends that desired to be holding a little one in their arms as well. We will be pleading with you as you seek the Lord to once again bless you with life!

  6. October 29, 2010 10:55 am

    I will always remember the utter joy I felt when you shared the news of your pregnancy with us, and now I’m praying with you for another happy day like you had two years ago!

  7. Rachel permalink
    October 29, 2010 12:11 pm

    Oh I am happy to be praying for a little riglet. Thank you for inviting us along. You are a beautiful mama.

  8. October 29, 2010 1:56 pm

    praying for you guys!

  9. Jenn A permalink
    October 29, 2010 2:40 pm

    I was praying for this exact thing last night while thinking about you and Joe and Sam.

  10. Nancy Wilson permalink
    October 29, 2010 2:56 pm

    what a priviledge it is to pray with you and Joe concerning God’s plan for your family. “Father, I ask that Your perfect will be done in Jenny and Joe’s life regarding more children. I ask that their quiver be full and that their home be used to raise Godly boys and girls who will come to love You more than they love anything else in this life. Thank You Father for Sam, and for answered prayer regarding him. We will keep our eyes on You Father, as we rejoice in serving a risen Savior!”.

  11. Jessica McAlpine permalink
    October 29, 2010 7:28 pm

    Yes! I love asking God for more babies. =) Thank you for sharing, Jenny.

  12. October 29, 2010 10:31 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing; I will certainly be praying.

  13. jackielopina permalink
    October 30, 2010 7:11 am

    Jenny, I clicked over to your blog from Molly Piper’s and this post was like water to my dry soul. As we’re in the midst of infertility – 2 years in, running out of options in the medical realm – it is so easy to think the rest of my life is going to this continual pain and sadness. Thank you so much for reminding me God is faithful and good! Your story encouraged my heart this morning:)

  14. Susie Tiemeyer permalink
    October 30, 2010 8:16 am

    Jenny, yes I will pray. I experienced much of what you described after a few years of marriage.

    In Genesis this morning, I read the words the LORD uttered to Abraham about Isaac’s arrival “at the appointed time.” Don’t those words apply to all seasons of our lives? Over & over, in hardship after hardship, I’ve been overcome with a fresh wave of grace & mercy at the appointed time.

    Be encouraged dear sister, He hears and responds at the appointed time.

    Love, Susie

  15. Sarah permalink
    October 31, 2010 4:07 am

    We will join you in praying as you did for us, sweet friend! It is an honor to go before the Lord on your behalf with such a faith-filled request. Love you, Jen!

  16. Mrs Y permalink
    October 31, 2010 8:29 pm

    My friend referred me to this post. Your story is/ could be of some encouragement to my faith and struggle with infertility.

  17. October 31, 2010 11:20 pm

    Yes, I will pray for you gladly!

    I too struggled with infertility for a long time. After 12 years of marriage, the Lord gave us our Emma Hope and then two years later, He blessed us with another little girl, Eliana Faith.

    We are trying to have another baby now also, and sometimes I still experience those familiar feelings of desperation even though I have two sweet girls. It’s amazing how strong that longing for motherhood can be.

    Would you pray for us too? (Matt and Elizabeth)

    Oh, and I think sharing your story would be of great help to many women!

  18. November 1, 2010 2:50 pm

    Jenny,

    I love you and I join with you to pray for another baby for you and Joe. I’m so thankful for your Sam and our Adlie Jane. We too have been asking God for another baby for just under a year. I call out to God with you.

    Love you and miss you.
    I’m going to come up there and see you one of these days too.

    Love – Jordan

  19. Aunt Min permalink
    November 4, 2010 6:22 am

    Jenny-I just read this. Oh my, how this took me back to the sleepless nights of praying to God to give you and Joe a child. How many dinner time prayers were lifted up by your brother asking God to hear his sister’s cry…all while being pregnant with my own child and wanting you to feel everything I was feeling so badly and even feeling guilty that I was pregnant and you weren’t. I am more than honored to be
    back in that place, begging our Father to give you and Joe another baby and precious Sam a sibling. We love you all.

  20. November 8, 2010 8:28 pm

    God is so good. It’s so refreshing to my heart to hear of His good faithfulness in blessing your family with a baby boy. I came across your blog through some mutual friends at BBC and I must say this is so good to hear. My husband and I have been asking and waiting for the past two years and as difficult as it is it’s very refining. Thanks for sharing bits and pieces of your story…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,044 other followers

