Skip to content

top 10 :: favorite cleaning supplies

November 10, 2010

I fall into the strange category of people who love to clean.  When I’m talking on the phone, stressed, anxious, happy, or just have a lot on my mind- I clean.  Me and my mom are cut from the same cloth, so I think I inherited this from her. Rarely would I ever see my mom on the phone without a mop in her hand.

To add to the strangeness, I’ve been known to ask for cleaning supplies for my birthday or Christmas.  The top two on my list of favorites are some of the most helpful gifts I’ve received.

So, in addition to a couple of buckets, a tooth brush, and a few sponges and towels, here are my top ten favorite cleaning supplies.

1. Shark 2-in-1 Cordless Vacuum Cleaner: I use it every day, multiple times a day.  I love this little piece of machinery and it has saved my hardwood floors and rugs time and time again from my little toddler.

2. Shark Steam Mop:  My mom bought this for me after she fell in love with hers.  I love using it on my hardwood floors.  It is super easy to use and works really well with the Method wood floor cleaner I use (#6).

3. Bar Keeper’s Friend: I really like the look of stainless steel appliances, but they seem to be the hardest thing to keep clean, or at least looking clean.  I use this weekly on my dishwasher door, trash can, microwave, and tea kettle and it works really well.

4. White Distilled Vinegar/Baking Soda: I use these two little ingredients more than any other cleaning products I have.  I even put vinegar in my washing machine when I’m doing laundry.  They are cheap and work wonderfully.

5. Evercare Microfiber Cleaning Cloths: These come in packs of four and each cloth is used for a different purpose: dusting, polishing, glass-cleaning, scrubbing.  I love these because I can throw them in the washing machine and don’t have to use as many paper towels (and they work better, too!).

6. Method Wood for Good Floor Care Cleaner:  I use this on my hardwood floors all over my house.  I use this with my steam mop and my regular mop a few times a week.  I buy the Almond scent and it makes my house smell really good.

7. Pledge Multi-Surface Cleaner:  I just recently discovered this new product and am giving it a try. You can use it on metal, glass, wood and electronics.  I have really liked that I can take it into a room and use it on a number of different surfaces.  I love the Lavender Fresh scent.

8. J.R. Watkins Cleaners: I really like this brand of dish soap and All-purpose cleaner.  These cleaners are all-natural and they smell incredible.

9. Seventh Generation Dishwasher Detergent: We just got a dishwasher for the first time in five years, and I have used this liquid detergent ever since.  I like it, but I’m considering switching to powder detergent since it is cheaper. (Remove child from dishwasher door before use!)

10. Way Clean spray bottles: I like these because they have six different household cleaning recipes printed on the outside of the bottle.  I use these everyday, mainly for my all-purpose cleaner and my window cleaner.  I would eventually like to invest in some essential oils and make more of my cleaners, but until then- I just squeeze a bit of fresh lemon in the mix!

What are some of your can’t-live-without cleaning products?  Have any favorite recipes for homemade cleaners that you’d like to share?

******************************************

For more Top 10 posts

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Crystal B. permalink
    November 10, 2010 11:25 am

    you mop a few times a week??? I’m more like… a few times a year. gross.

  2. therigneys permalink*
    November 10, 2010 11:29 am

    If you saw my kitchen floors after Sam gets a hold of them (or after I’ve done a lot of baking) you would understand why. It isn’t pretty!

  3. November 10, 2010 12:57 pm

    I found out by accident that Pledge works great on my stainless steel items, as well as the wood in my house! I’m liking the Outdoor Fresh scent right now. And I too would fall under the category of those that love to clean. There’s nothing like the end product of a clean space.

  4. Betsy permalink
    November 10, 2010 1:30 pm

    I have recently resorted to paying my sitter extra when she comes to do the dishes and the bathrooms. Is this wrong? I don’t know what she cleans with but everything sparkles when I get home. :)

  5. November 10, 2010 1:37 pm

    Oh Jenny. I WISH I loved to clean, but alas. I do not.

    However, I do appreciate these microfiber swiffer covers. No need to keep buying the disposable ones! http://www.amazon.com/Tersano-lotus-LMC28-Cloths-2-Pack/dp/B000WX6FI6/ref=sr_1_6?s=hi&ie=UTF8&qid=1289417717&sr=1-6

  6. November 10, 2010 1:40 pm

    Oh! And I forgot to mention that we use the Method dishwasher tablets and have been happy with them. AND that I broke down and bought a pack of 12 Zwipes microfiber cloths because just having a few wasn’t enough.

  7. November 10, 2010 1:42 pm

    Okay, just one more comment. I really like the Method grapefruit all purpose spray. Fresh, but not overpowering. And it works well.

  8. Jenn A permalink
    November 10, 2010 4:06 pm

    How about telling us where you buy those favorite products? Target mostly? I might need to try some of them. I sure like to keep my house clean and I’ve been using most of the same products since I worked for a cleaning service while in college (many years ago).

  9. D. in D.C. permalink
    November 10, 2010 5:33 pm

    Jenny, did you know you can sprinkle a few tablespoons of baking soda down a slow drain, then pour some distilled vinegar down there and let it bubble up and clear your drain?! Do it a couple times. There!-another use for those wonderful cleaners!

  10. November 10, 2010 6:08 pm

    Yes definitely to Seventh Generation diswasher detergent, or anyway one that has no phosphates. Phosphates are added to most to eat up the food that’s stuck to the dishes. If there’s no food, they start eating away at the glassware. That’s where all the etched drinking glasses come from–the ones that look like there’s a film on them, but it’s permanent.

    And now the admission that running the dishwasher may be the only thing on your list that we do regularly

  11. Emily Mortvedt permalink
    November 21, 2010 10:09 pm

    LOOOOVE this post Jenny :) It just made me feel excited and motivated! I totally understand this type of love :D

  12. joyfilledbloggers permalink
    February 14, 2011 9:37 am

    Jenny, where did you buy your Way Clean spray bottles? Amazon? Or have you found them at a local store?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,039 other followers

