Skip to content

christmas 2010 :: decorating the home

December 13, 2010

When we lived in a basement, it didn’t take much to fill up our small space with Christmas decorations, but even then I knew we didn’t have very many.  Now that we live in a house, I have joked in the past couple of weeks that we look a tad Jewish.

We are working on adding to our collection year after year, but for now- everything you see in this picture is what we have to decorate with: A few bags of pine-cones, a miniature tree, a tree skirt, and a box filled with ornaments, an advent calendar, and two nativity sets.

These are our Advent candles (along with the nativity set Joe brought home from his mission trip to Africa).  Since we are currently in our third week of Advent, we light three candles and keep them burning throughout the day.  This has been a wonderful visual reminder of what we are celebrating and anticipating this season- the first and second coming of Christ.

The first Nativity set Joe and I bought after we got married…

Our Advent Calendar that Noel gave us during first Christmas we lived with the Pipers back in 2006…

We bought a medium-sized tree this year and didn’t realize what an interesting shape it had until we brought it home.

Once we trimmed it a bit and started decorating, it began to lose its awkwardness and turned into a pretty little Christmas tree.  We predicted that it would take us at least four times to get the lights right, but we were overachievers this year and only had to re-do them twice.

We have a few more ornaments this year, as opposed to the five or six we had last year.  I owe this mainly to my generous mother who actually just sent me a package in the mail with a few new ornaments.  I wanted to take pictures of some of our favorites in case any of them break, which isn’t an outlandish thought given the interest that our busy toddler has taken in our tree this year.

We tried to put the breakable ones closer to the top and use the soft ones for Sam to touch at the bottom.

Each year we plan to buy our children a new ornament to put on the tree, an ornament that represents something significant from the previous year.  This was Sam’s ornament last year…

And this is the ornament we bought Sam for this year…

What are some of your favorite Christmas or Advent traditions?  I’d love to hear what your family does each year!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lindsey Knowles permalink
    December 13, 2010 3:33 pm

    I’m in love with your advent calendar! Where did she find it?!

  2. Ellen LaLonde permalink
    December 13, 2010 3:52 pm

    Girl,

    I love your advent calendar and also your advent candle. Where did she find the advent calendar- I would love to get one like it. If you don’t know where she got it – can you take several pictures of it (elalonse@sbcglobal.net) and maybe I can get creative and make one similar to it. We still use the one Josiah made in elementary school. I will have to get you a copy of it. We also get the kids a hallmark ornament each year so when they go off on their own they will have ornaments then. One of our other traditions is I found a book when the kids were little that had twas the night before christmas in the front half of the book and then the christmas story in the second half of the story we would read on christmas eve or christmas day. Sam is getting so big and adorable. I laugh because I remember not having many christmas decorations when I first got married and now I have so many – I have to decide which ones we will use this year. Have a very Blessed and Merry Christmas. Love ya, Ms. Ellen

  3. Traci Fort permalink
    December 13, 2010 4:21 pm

    Love-love-love this post!!! I adore your Christmas tree and the meaningful ornaments that you have on display!!! I love Sam’s ornaments – the bright Fair Isle sweater “S,” the Jim Shore ornament for his First Christmas, and the Big Boy “Green Eggs and Ham” book ornament!!! And the camel is too cute!!! I also love the beribboned ornaments!!! Did you happen to make those?! They are perfectly lovely!!!
    Jenny, once again, you have brightened my day with your creative gifts of writing and photography!!! Thank you for sharing your wonderful life with all of us!!! :)
    Love, Traci

  4. Jenn A permalink
    December 13, 2010 7:25 pm

    I love the camel ornament!! And the Green Eggs and Ham ornament seems perfect. I imagine that you will have fun explaining the story behind each ornament to Sam when he’s older. Both sets of grandparents get each of our boys an ornament every year, so we haven’t been getting them ornaments. I usually buy one or two new ones every year. The boys do love putting their own ornaments on the tree every year. We use an advent calendar that Aiden and I made when he was in preschool. One tradition that we have is that Scott reads the story The Three Trees every year to the boys on Christmas Eve. He reads the Christmas Story from the Bible to the boys in sections a little at a time leading up to Christmas. Your quilted tree skirt is gorgeous!

  5. Susie Tiemeyer permalink
    December 15, 2010 4:48 am

    I love your neat, orderly, uncluttered home…I’m inspired! Thanks for your thoughtful words & photos. I love seeing the wonder & discovery in Sam’s eyes!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,043 other followers

