Skip to content

bedrest at 15 weeks

January 27, 2011

As I’m writing this, I am sitting up in bed and I hear the noises of Joe eating a home-cooked meal and the chef herself washing my dishes.  When I woke up this morning, I didn’t expect to have Jenna feeding us, cleaning our house, and doing our dishes this evening, but the fact that she is means a great deal to us right now.

I’ll back up a bit in the story. Yesterday morning, I was carrying Sam on my hip and tripped on my computer cord.  I was walking really fast actually and didn’t notice the cord lying on the ground under the blanket.  Next thing I knew, Sam and I had crashed on the living room floor.  It was a really hard fall.  Sam’s head hit the hardwood floors leaving a bruised forehead, bloody lip, and scraped-up chin.  He was back to playing in about five minutes.  Kids are so resilient, aren’t they?  It took me at least that amount of time to remember that I was pregnant.

When we fell, Sam hit the floor on my right side and I fell partially on the floor and partially on the sharp corner of a diaper box that we had just brought home from the store.  As the day went on, my stomach began cramping more and more and the rest of my body started feeling like I had just been in a car wreck.  I called Joe at work and he suggested that I call my doctor and let her know what happened.

A couple hours later, I was in the doctor’s office listening to our baby’s slow, but steady, heartbeat.  My doctor said that she would feel more comfortable doing blood-work and giving me an ultrasound 24 hours after my fall, which brings us to this morning.

Joe took Sam to Musikgarten and I headed to my appointment by myself, confident that I wouldn’t need him to be there since I felt everything would be fine.

A few minutes into my ultrasound, I could tell that the technician was being very hesitant and quiet to share any details.  She explained to me that she found bleeding in at least 3-4 different areas and that she didn’t like the coloring of my uterus,  she wanted the doctor to come in and see the results and talk to me in person about the details.

The next twenty minutes were hard to say the least.  My doctor said that by looking at the ultrasound, she believed that my placenta had torn and that our baby could be losing blood.  The only way to confirm this, though, is to have a certain blood test done to see if they can detect any sign of fetal blood mixed with my blood.

One important thing I learned is that it would have been very dangerous for our baby if my blood type would have been O negative, we are especially thankful that my blood type did not pose any sort of additional threat to the life of our little one.

We received a phone call this afternoon from our doctor telling us that they did not find any fetal blood cells in my blood, which gives them good reason to believe that my placenta did not tear.  We could not be more thankful for this news.

However, I have been put on bed rest for at least one week in order for my bleeding to heal.  It is a great relief to know that the internal bleeding is most likely my blood and not our baby’s.  I will be monitored pretty closely from here on out and will have another ultrasound next Thursday to check on our baby and to see if the bleeding has subsided.

If we come to your mind in the next week or so, please pray that the Lord would protect our little baby, heal my body and prevent any blood clotting, and for grace to arrange the details of a full-time working dad, a stay-in-bed-all-day mom, and a very active little 19 month-old who wants his mom to pick him up, but can’t.

We have already been so blessed by those who have walked through this crazy day with us.  It is no small thing to have the love, support, and prayers of Christ’s body.  We will post updates as we know more.  Thank you for praying.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Ruth permalink
    January 27, 2011 11:08 pm

    You’ve been my prayers these past two days. My mom works with your mom and I found out just after church yesterday evening and I’ve been praying for your precious family and the dear little one you are carrying. We serve an awesome God and I’m overjoyed to hear all the tests came back okay. I will continue to pray. *Hug*

  2. January 27, 2011 11:12 pm

    We will be praying for all four of you…

  3. Shannon Archer permalink
    January 27, 2011 11:18 pm

    Jenny…I would be happy to have Sam over here for however often or however many days it would help. I know he doesn’t know me and I’m not sure if he would go with the flow of that but seriously, if it would work, I am happy to have him. Josiah does Kindergarten every morning and Tyndie has preschool M-W morning and my schedule is quite open next week (and tomorrow) so just let me know…really.

  4. January 28, 2011 12:52 am

    Oh, Jenny, I don’t even know you outside of bloggy-land, but I am so sorry this happened & will bring you & your sweet baby before the Throne during my morning prayer time!

  5. January 28, 2011 1:12 am

    oh Jen, oh Jen, oh Jen.
    I love you so much!! This news was hard to read. I know that our God is with you, and we are praying for you and Joe and Sam and dear little Baby Rig.

  6. January 28, 2011 4:56 am

    I’m sorry to hear that this has happened but I am thankful for God’s keeping your baby safe thus far.

    May His name be glorified by the outcome of this next week. I’m praying fervently that He chooses to be glorified by healing your body completely and granting a safe, full pregnancy.

    Love you, Jenny.

  7. Jenn A permalink
    January 28, 2011 7:01 am

    You know that we are praying.

  8. January 28, 2011 8:00 am

    Jenny, you’ve been in my thoughts and prayers since Melinda first told me what was going on… praying for healing for you and baby… peace while waiting… and strength from our Lord to get you through the coming days. So thankful you have sweet friends to help you!! Hang in there… Love, Shannon

  9. January 28, 2011 8:02 am

    We will be praying!

  10. Stephanie permalink
    January 28, 2011 10:19 am

    I found your blog by chance…I have just prayed for you and your sweet baby and will continue to do so! I believe that you are being covered in prayer by many believers in Christ! Our God is so good and so loving – rest in His grace!

  11. Betsy permalink
    January 28, 2011 10:53 am

    Oh, Jen! I’m so sorry! When I read your post about falling, one of my first thoughts was about little rig. We will be praying!!

  12. January 28, 2011 12:52 pm

    I will be praying!

  13. Matt permalink
    January 28, 2011 2:07 pm

    I am so so sorry Jenny! We will be praying as well!! And already have!! I am sure you will have help from people closer to you but if you need any other help, we would love to as well!!!

    Arianne

  14. January 28, 2011 5:20 pm

    Jen,
    I came across your blog last year and have been so blessed by your posts! Your love of home and family is an encouragement to me as a young woman (who hopes for those roles as well someday!), and I love all of the creative ideas you have!

    I was so sorry to read this post this morning and I wanted to let you know that you have been in my prayers today. God is faithful and I pray that He will draw you closer during this time and comfort your burdened hearts, that you would rest “in the shadow of His wings”. Remember Philippians 4:4-7!

    God bless you,
    Elena

  15. jessica permalink
    January 29, 2011 9:57 pm

    Oh, so sorry to hear it, Jenny! That’s horrible! I’m so thankful you are surrounded by great friends. Praying that you heal up uber-quick, and your week flies by!

  16. January 30, 2011 12:40 am

    I will be praying for you!

  17. Catherine permalink
    January 30, 2011 11:25 pm

    Jen, I am praying for you, your little baby, Joe, and Sam this week…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,039 other followers

