Skip to content

silent retreat

February 20, 2011

Tomorrow morning, I will be heading out of town to attend the Bethlehem Pastors’ Wives Silent Retreat (insert about a hundred exclamation points here).  I’m so excited because I’m remembering how absolutely wonderful it was when I went back in 2009.  I was pregnant with Sam at the time and it was such a gift to be able to have those four days to rest, read, pray, plan, relax, and spend some quality time with other women at my church.  To have this opportunity a second time before our little one comes along is such a blessing!  Have any of you ever been on a silent retreat before?  I’ve only been on one, but I would love for silent retreats to become a more regular practice in my life.

I actually feel a tad overwhelmed with all the things I want to accomplish in these four short days (too many books, too little time!).  Joe just told me to focus on the things that I rarely have time to do while at home with a busy toddler.  In other words, he encouraged me to spend extended times reading God’s word and praying, which will be so nice since my time with the Lord these days is often interrupted!

I especially love the evening times at this retreat.  All the wives get together, watch movies, and knit (or work on any other sort of craft project they brought).  I’m thinking about bringing Sam’s baby book along and working on it some, I thought it would be nice to finish before he turns two, or at least before he starts school!

I’m really thankful for Joe and my friend, Becky, who will be taking care of Sam while I’m gone.  I definitely couldn’t go out of town for four days without their help.

Alright, I need to go finish packing!  I’m sure I’ll forget something, but so far I’ve packed books, my Bible, prayer journal, computer, a few movies, camera, iPod, my favorite cookbooks, a plain notebook, recipe cards, small lamp, candles, bottled water, snacks, and my pillow.  I’ll have to make some room for clothes and toiletries somewhere.

If you think about it, pray that I have a refreshing time…and that I won’t miss these guys too much.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 4:05 am

    Oh Jen, I’m so happy for you! Alex tries to do this for one day every quarter or so and has been so blessed by it. I have to take mine in snatches–an hour or two alone most weeks to pray and plan is all I can get. I’m so glad you have this opportunity!! Enjoy enjoy enjoy!

  2. February 21, 2011 11:02 am

    i’ll be praying for you! have a wonderful time!

  3. Jenn A permalink
    February 21, 2011 11:40 am

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 991 other followers

