Skip to content

20 weeks

March 3, 2011

(Little Rig #2, looking identical to his/her older brother’s ultrasound picture)

On Tuesday, the three (or shall I say four?) of us moseyed our way up to my obgyn’s office for our big 20 week ultrasound!

One of the first things I told our ultrasound technician was…“We don’t want to know the gender of our baby, so when I ask you a hundred times if we are having a boy or a girl, just tell me that you don’t know!”

The ultrasound took quite a bit of time.  The technician spent some time looking for any signs of damage from my previous fall and then proceeded to measure ever square inch of our little baby.  Our baby’s legs were crossed the entire ultrasound until the very end.  We were then instructed to look away from the screen and a few minutes later she said that we could see our baby again.

“I think I know the gender of your baby.  Would you like me to write it down and seal it in an envelope for you?”

Oh my!  What an insane amount of temptation that would be for me!  There is no way that I could have the gender of my baby written down and sealed in an envelope for four months and not open it.”

“Well, would you like me to?” our technician asked again.

“Sure!”

The sealed envelope was delivered to us while we met with my doctor and we stored it away once we got home, promising each other we wouldn’t look unless we both agreed.  We both figure that since I’m already half-way through this pregnancy, we can wait 20 more weeks to find out.  I think.

Our doctor said that the baby looks very healthy and that it appears as though everything has completely healed in my placenta.  We are grateful to God for such a wonderful report.

We’ll keep everyone posted as things progress.  We are still working on naming this little one.  Joe and I mostly agree, but I have a feeling we might be making our final decision on the drive to the hospital.

Until then, we are going to enjoy the last few months we have with just one child in our home and try our hardest to stay away from this little envelope…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Marla permalink
    March 3, 2011 9:08 pm

    Looks like a girl to me! I love your will power!! I’m not sure I would be able to have that envelope in my house.

  2. Sandy Smith permalink
    March 3, 2011 9:19 pm

    Send the envelope to me. I’ll take good care of it for you!!

  3. March 3, 2011 10:19 pm

    ha! sandy!!! wouldn’t you just love that?!

    i am so thrilled that your baby is healthy!! as i read this, i recalled your call about the injury and fresh tears were welling. that was so scary. so sad. i felt so helpless, and somewhat hopeless. praising our mighty GOD for forming this baby and protecting him or her!

  4. Becky permalink
    March 3, 2011 11:56 pm

    I’m SO glad lil Rig #2 is looking healthy! And such a cutie (from what I can see!) I honestly don’t know how you are NOT looking in that envelope! I think I would go insane. :) Love all 4 of you so much!

  5. thegereckes permalink
    March 4, 2011 1:51 am

    Oh Sassy…. ;)

  6. Jenn A permalink
    March 4, 2011 7:23 am

    So glad baby is healthy! I don’t think I would do well with that envelope in my house. I probably would have looked in it on my way home from the ultrasound!

  7. March 4, 2011 7:35 am

    J, you have an INSANE amount of will power! I read this and kept thinking, WHAT? Just sitting around, waiting for a weak moment…Girl, you are amazing!

  8. Gigi permalink
    March 5, 2011 6:06 pm

    I agree with Sassy. We can both watch the envelope for you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,045 other followers

