Skip to content

letters

March 16, 2011

This is just a glimpse of what’s been decorating our home the past few weeks.  If you were to stop by our house during the day you would most likely find letters everywhere…

You’d find them on the floor…

on the refrigerator…

on blocks…

on Sam’s little desk…

in the bathtub…

and then back on the floor again…

Sam has shown such an interest in learning the alphabet lately, and we are just as eager to follow his lead and practice with him as often as he’d like.  As of yesterday, Sam can (excitedly) recognize and recite each letter of the alphabet, with an occasional mix-up between “P” and “R” and “X” and “Y”.  It’s been so fun watching his mind and mouth at work, trying to enunciate the sound of each little letter.

Teaching your child the alphabet seems like such an ordinary and expected step in helping him develop (which it is), but the other day (while singing the ABC’s for the fifty-third time), I began to feel what a privilege I truly have as a parent.  It’s so much more than a little song; all of these letters are leading up to something bigger.

One day, these letters are going to become words for Sam.  And these words will become sentences, sentences then lead to paragraphs, paragraphs lead to pages, and then the best part…pages turn into books!

Out of all the books in the world, I desire our son to read, memorize, and love the Word of God.  I want Sam to treasure God’s law in his heart and find comfort for his soul in the pages of the Bible, but in order for that to happen, he must first learn how to read.

So everyday, when I sit down with Sam to practice the alphabet, I’m going to ask God to take these little letters and turn them into words and sentences and paragraphs, in the hope that one day he will know the God who is the Word.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Karla permalink
    March 16, 2011 9:02 am

    Jenny,
    I got chills. Thank you for always reminding me indeed what a privilege it is to parent these amazing children. Gideon just started crawling and exploring (everything!!) and seeing his little mind start to process safety and boundaries is mind blowing.
    Praying for you, Joe and your sweet Sam (and baby)!!.
    karla

  2. Becky Forsyth permalink
    March 16, 2011 9:17 am

    Jenny,
    Even though we were never close, I just want you to know how proud I am of you and the wonderful mother you are to Sam and this new little one you carry inside of you. Your doing amazing things for Sam, and I just love the alphabets you made. And where did you find those blocks? Love them.Thanks for letting me in your world and all your happenings. Love y’all.

  3. Lesleighj permalink
    March 16, 2011 9:44 am

    Jenny, I love you! I think about our time in college often, and I giggle… sometimes out loud… Then I read your blog, and I marvel at the woman of God you are… the one you were then… One thing I have always loved about you is your reliance on God, even in small stuff. I can see that you are teaching your son the same. I pray that I am that kind of mom some day. I love seeing your delight in the things of God. It’s always amazed me!
    I miss you my sweet friend.

  4. Cathy Hipps permalink
    March 16, 2011 10:15 am

    What a wonderful synopsis of what we learn, how we learn, and the ultimate goal of our learning! Sam is indeed a lucky young man.

  5. March 16, 2011 11:13 am

    amen!

    i’m so glad God made you a momma so you can inspire me to be a better one!

  6. March 16, 2011 11:14 am

    not better than *you*…

    that didn’t come out right. but, you know what i mean.

  7. Sandy Smith permalink
    March 16, 2011 12:49 pm

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this post!

  8. Nancygirl permalink
    March 16, 2011 3:31 pm

    i love this post too, sweet Jenny. I can’t think of anything I want more for my children and grandchildren than to have them pant after God’s Word on a daily basis.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,039 other followers

