Skip to content

homemade granola

March 30, 2011

I recently made my first batch of homemade granola and am happy to report that the entire Rigney family (including the babe in my belly) loved it.  Why am I just now getting around to trying this?  It was so delicious and super easy to make!

I’m almost certain that we won’t be going back to store-bought cereal after making our own (which was our main reason for experimenting with granola in the first place).  We were spending around $16-$20 a month on boxed cereal, so we are hoping this will save us money in the long run since we buy most of these ingredients in bulk.

I tailored a few different recipes to our particular taste and purposely left out dried cranberries and raisins to our first batch (since we can add them later if we’d like).  My mom and a few friends asked for my recipe, so I thought I’d post it here if anyone else is interested.

Homemade Granola

  • 8 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1 cup chopped almonds
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 cup ground flax-seed
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 1 cup sunflower or coconut oil
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Line two large baking sheets with wax paper or aluminum foil.
  2. Combine the oats, flax-seed, sunflower seeds, almonds, pecans, and walnuts in a large bowl. Stir together the salt, brown sugar, maple syrup, honey, oil, cinnamon, and vanilla in a saucepan. Bring to a boil over medium heat, then pour over the dry ingredients, and stir to coat. Spread the mixture out evenly on the baking sheets.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven until crispy and toasted, about 20 minutes. Stir once halfway through. Cool, then stir in the raisins or cranberries (if you’d like!) before storing in an airtight container.

Have any granola recipes or favorite mix-in suggestions that you’d like to share?

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy Smith permalink
    March 30, 2011 6:51 pm

    Sounds super good. Another thing I’ll do after retirement!
    Thanks for posting this.

  2. March 30, 2011 7:03 pm

    Looks pretty! I like to add wheat germ, and a little vanilla for extra sweetness in mine. I use the granola to make homemade parfaits, layering with yogurt and blueberries. One of my favorite snacks!

  3. March 30, 2011 7:23 pm

    That looks so delicious!

    Here’s one of our favorite granola recipes:

    http://comeabide.blogspot.com/2008/03/granola-granola-oh-how-we-love-you.html

  4. Becky permalink
    March 30, 2011 10:10 pm

    Wow, that does sound really easy!

  5. March 31, 2011 11:55 am

    Oh… I see the vanilla in yours! I bet the sunflower or coconut oil adds a nice flavor.
    It makes a pretty “food gift” in a cute jar.

  6. April 1, 2011 7:39 am

    I am so TRYING this! Except cookie sheets don’t fit in the UK oven so I’ll have to bake in small batches. Looks very worth it, though. Thank you so much–super quality ideas from the Rigs, as usual. One question I have, J, is how sweet does it taste? I am curious if it’s as sweet as sweet cereal. We tend to like things a bit on the less-sweet side. Think we’d like this? Would you mind commenting on this?

  7. therigneys permalink*
    April 1, 2011 9:41 am

    Bets- this definitely isn’t a “sweet” cereal. With all of the nuts and seeds in this recipe, it definitely balances the sweetness from the honey and maple syrup! And there is a nice hint of cinnamon! I think y’all will like it!

  8. April 1, 2011 12:11 pm

    It sounds absolutely lovely. Thank you so much. I’m on it. It will probably take me a few weeks to locate all the ingredients over here, though! Thanks for inspiring me to try this–our cereal mornings are about to get much yummier–and hopefully cheaper!

  9. September 24, 2011 2:33 pm

    i love your blog! just used this in combination w/ my “more with less” cookbook and it’s looking scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,045 other followers

