Skip to content

book club selections :: 2011-2012

May 3, 2011

Yesterday was Book Selection Night for my book club.  We like to set our schedule for the full year, beginning in the summer.  We have found this method helpful (instead of choosing books month-to-month), so that we can put our books on hold at the library or read ahead if we’d like (You know, in all our free time that we have raising little children, cooking, cleaning, and showering bi-monthly).

Each person in our group gets to choose at least one book that they would like us to read.  For the remaining months, we throw book titles in a bowl and draw.

I am really excited about our book selections for the upcoming year, and I’m just as excited about spending time every month with the wonderfully fun group of women who share my love of good books (and desserts, of course!).  I had no idea starting a book club would be this fun and rewarding!  I wholeheartedly recommend starting or joining a book club if you are not in one already.

Here is our book list if you’d like to take a look.  Have any of you read one (or more) of these books before?

June: An Experiment in Criticism, C.S. Lewis.

July: Crossing to Safety, Wallace Stegner

August: Moon Over Manifest, Clare Vanderpool

September: I Dared to Call Him Father, Bilquis Sheikh

October: Night, EIie Wiesel

November: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, Shaffer & Barrows

December: Uncle Tom’s Cabin  Harriet Beecher Stowe

January: Uncle Tom’s Cabin (cont.) Harriet Beecher Stowe

February: Notes from a Tilt-A-Whirl, N.D. Wilson

March: The Zookeeper’s Wife, Diane Ackerman

April: Freedom, Jonathan Franzen

May: The Book Thief, Markus Zusak

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy Smith permalink
    May 3, 2011 9:36 pm

    When I retire, I would like to join your book club! Could I be a long distance member?

  2. Cathy Hipps permalink
    May 4, 2011 7:01 am

    I’ll join it with you, Sandy!

    By the way, Jenny, I’ve only read Uncle Tom’s Cabin.

  3. May 4, 2011 8:28 am

    I’ve read 2.5 of those books :) (Nights, Potato Peel and about half of Crossing to Safety)

    I want to read Night again. Good reminder.

  4. May 4, 2011 8:47 am

    I’m adding a bunch of these to my Nook wish list!!

  5. May 4, 2011 11:22 am

    Thanks for sharing this list, Jenny! As a lover of WWII history, I really enjoyed Elie Wiesel’s book; it was very raw and thought-provoking.

  6. May 4, 2011 12:31 pm

    I’ve read Night, Notes from the Tilt-a-Whirl, An Experiment in Criticism, and Uncle Tom’s Cabin. I loved them all, although Uncle Tom’s Cabin is a difficult read. It’s a good starting point for a discussion of race relations in America and the role (both good and bad) that Evangelicals have played in that struggle.

    I’m reading Night right now with my sixth grade class and they have been stunned by the simplicity of the language but the power of the story. It’s brought about lots of conversations about Wiesel’s relationship with God.

  7. Kristin permalink
    May 11, 2011 4:54 pm

    I’m excited to read through these and have already purchased most of the books! I thought it was funny that we randomly chose so many books involving the Holocaust (Night, Potato Peel, Book Thief, Zookeeper’s Wife, and Sarah’s Key this month). I love reading about that period in history.

  8. Betsy permalink
    January 26, 2012 3:37 pm

    I didn’t care for “The zookeeper’s wife”. It seemed to drag. but I really enjoyed “The Book Thief” the beginning is a little weird as Death is the narrator but then it really took off. I also loved the Guernsey.. book. Other good world war two books are, Those who saved us, 22 Britannia road, The postmistress.
    Enjoy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,043 other followers

