Skip to content

what dreams are made of…

May 24, 2011

This morning, Melinda and I decided to take the kids to Shipley Do-Nuts for the first time.  If you aren’t from the South, you don’t understand what an intregal part this little do-nut shop plays in ones childhood.  Some of my fondest memories from being a kid were waiting for my dad to walk in the door every Saturday morning with my and my brother’s favorite do-nut picks while we watched The Muppets.

It felt only fitting to pass this tradition on to my child…

And now for one of my finer parenting moments…please don’t ask.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah Rogers permalink
    May 24, 2011 2:58 pm

    i worked at shipley donuts for 8 years and i’m still not tired of donuts! they’re so delicious!

  2. May 24, 2011 3:01 pm

    LOVE the last pic! haha

  3. May 24, 2011 3:11 pm

    yay! avery was always superman and miles was always batman. love these pics!

  4. May 24, 2011 3:28 pm

    We’ve done birthday breakfast at Shipley’s for YEARS… My LOVE for Shipley’s began in high school… many a morning we stopped there on our way to school!!

  5. Penny permalink
    May 24, 2011 4:30 pm

    No donuts, but I’ll take a dozen of those babies! Great pictures Jenny!

  6. Anna permalink
    May 24, 2011 8:42 pm

    When I think of Texas, I think of the do-nut shop my Memom took me too. love this post :)

  7. May 24, 2011 10:37 pm

    So, how IS potty training coming??

  8. May 24, 2011 10:39 pm

    PS. the one with the three of them holding hands is a great photo!

  9. Jenn A permalink
    May 25, 2011 6:48 am

    It is pretty much impossible not to ask….what happened?!! =) I’m sure it is a funny story, in retrospect of course! My favorite is the one with them holding hands. What fun!

  10. May 25, 2011 8:05 am

    I totally feel the same sense of nostalgia about mom & pop donut shops from childhood. Ours were Mighty Fine Donuts and another one called H&K.

    There’s really nothing that compares here in Minneapolis, and it grieves me.

    By the way, the cousin pictures are too much! Adorable babes.

  11. thegereckes permalink
    May 25, 2011 11:40 am

    gotta admit…this post is almost torturous for me…I love and miss me some shipleys! but, I do love the pictures…it’s so fun! can’t wait to take my kids there next year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,042 other followers

