Skip to content

top 10 :: my pregnancy must haves

May 31, 2011

I realize that saying pregnancy “must haves” might sound a little strong, but at this point in my pregnancy (week 34), some of these things are just non-negotiable! For instance, number one on my list…

1.) Chocolate Silk. I’m not a huge soy milk fan, nor am I a huge fan of chocolate. I drink this purely for the insane amount of heartburn that I experience during the end of my pregnancies. I ate TUMS like they were candy when I was pregnant with Sam, but this time around I decided that there must be a better solution than eating handfuls of chalk every night. I drink a small glass of this when I feel like I could exhale flames and it works in less than a minute. This little trick has saved my life this pregnancy.

2.) Heating Pad. I use this so much when I’m pregnant- mainly for my lower back, but also for my restless legs at night.

3.) Saltines and 7 Up. This is definitely more of a 1st trimester need, when the nausea is strong and all the food aversions are in full force. I needed this much more during my pregnancy with Sam, but only a few days during this pregnancy, thankfully!

4.) Lemons and Limes, or anything citrus for that matter. These are a real craving for me, especially during my 1st trimester. I squeeze them in my water and on a lot of my food. Grapefruit and Oranges are also dear to my heart. I don’t have any other cravings during my pregnancies except things that are sour, citrus, or vinegary. My mouth is watering right now just thinking about it.

5.) Boppy Pregnancy Wedge Pillow. My sister-in-law, Melinda, gave me a gift certificate to Motherhood Maternity when I was pregnant with Sam and I purchased this little pillow. Little did I know that this pillow would become invaluable to me! Not exaggerating. I travel with this pillow and sleep with it every night when my stomach starts getting really big. It makes the uncomfortable nights a little more bearable and relieves a good bit of pressure from my back. I recommend it to all my pregnant friends.

6.) Sparkling Water. Oh how I love this stuff, especially during my 1st trimester when plain tap water makes me nauseous. I don’t know what it is about carbonation, but it helps me a lot with feeling so queasy. This water, paired with the lemons and limes pictured above, are always stocked in the Rigney fridge.

7.) Bathtub. I thought I’d spare all of you the sight of me in a bathtub at 34 weeks pregnant (besides, Sam is much cuter). When I was pregnant with Sam, we lived in a basement and only had a stand-up shower. This time around, we have a bathtub in our house and the further along I progress in this pregnancy, the more I want to sit in the bathtub and soak all my aches and pains away. I don’t think I’d ever birth my babies in a tub, but I totally get why women labor in them- they are just amazing!

8.) Sarna Lotion. I haven’t needed this yet during my second pregnancy, but it was incredibly helpful during my first. The skin on my stomach was so itchy with Sam, it was probably the number one nuisance towards the end of my pregnancy. I was in tears over it during one of my doctor’s appointments and the nurse recommended that I try this lotion. I found that it worked very quickly and more effectively than anything else that I tried.

9.) Water Cup. My friend, Becky, introduced this little cup to me and I take it with me everywhere. It doesn’t sweat, has a lid that screws tight, and a straw. This cup is not cheap, $13.00 actually, but I got mine on sale! I find that I drink SO much more water throughout the day because of this cup (I’m convinced it’s because it has a lid and a straw). It has been great for me during pregnancy, because I have the hardest time remembering to drink all the water that I need.

10.) Good Shoes. I bought my first pair of good walking shoes last month. Investing in good shoes is like investing in a good mattress. It is so worth the money. I have the hardest time buying shoes if they cost more than the $2.50 flip-flops at Old Navy, but it was just getting ridiculous. My knees and the bottoms of my feet were so sore after a full day of walking around on our hardwood floors. Jenna let me try a pair of hers on and I was sold. I don’t think I’ll ever buy a pair of Old navy flip-flops again.

So, these are my top 10, but I want to know what’s on your list?!

I love hearing about what helps other women in pregnancy. Just the other day a friend told me that drinking vinegar would help with heartburn. I might give it a try because I regularly have heartburn and I crave vinegar. Win, win!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2011 3:09 pm

    My lactation consultant told me that it’s scientifically proven that you will drink more water if you use a straw. Good job, girl!

  2. May 31, 2011 3:33 pm

    A sweatless water bottle… genius. I remember having a veritable pool on my TV tray this time last summer, so maybe I’ll get one of those next time around.

  3. May 31, 2011 3:36 pm

    One more thing. I noticed that you have most of the ingredients of Basil Lime Soda in your list (citrus, water, carbonation). If you haven’t tried it, I’ll bring you some!

  4. May 31, 2011 3:47 pm

    Jess, I’ve never tried it, but it sounds delicious!

  5. Jenn A permalink
    May 31, 2011 10:12 pm

    where did you get that water cup? I want one!

  6. therigneys permalink*
    May 31, 2011 10:16 pm

    Jenn, I got it at Target!

  7. Chris K permalink
    June 1, 2011 6:57 am

    What is the brand of your glass and where can we buy them? Thanks!
    Love your blog . . . have you peeked in your envelope yet to see the sex of your baby? :) Don’t know if I could resist.

  8. therigneys permalink*
    June 1, 2011 9:28 am

    Chris, the brand of the glass is called, Aladdin, and you can purchase it at Target. They are around $13.00, but I got mine on sale for either $4.00 or $6.00, can’t quite remember.

  9. June 2, 2011 4:32 pm

    I agree with the craving citrus stuff, sparkling water, and taking baths. For heartburn, I take Zantac twice a day. I am 40 weeks and 3 days pregnant with my first baby, and nothing is really helping me at this point. I just want to have this baby girl! :)

    Off topic-my mom (Kari Lorence) took your husband’s Narnia class and loved it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 991 other followers

