Skip to content

celebrating three decades of teaching

June 2, 2011

Today around noon, my mom will say goodbye for the last time to a classroom full of first grade students.  My mom, Sandy Smith, began teaching in 1971, and over the past forty years, she has taught elementary school for twenty-nine of them (thirty, if you count the year that she home-schooled me).

My mom is a remarkable teacher ( I should know, she taught me in both the first and third grade!).  Any principal she has worked for, teacher she has taught alongside, and student she has taught, would wholeheartedly agree.

There is so much that could be said about my mom’s devotion to her students and co-workers throughout the years and I’m keenly aware of how much my words fall short in describing the impact she has had on so many lives.  Thankfully, many others feel the same way that I do and were given the opportunity to express their gratitude at my mom’s retirement reception.

Dozens of people came together to shower my mom with kind words, stories, gifts, and cards.  The room was filled with family, friends, students, principals, teachers, and secretaries, each one eager to celebrate my mom and her career.  I am so thankful to the group of women who worked so hard to coordinate all of the food, flowers, decorations, slideshow, photo sign-in book, gifts, etc.  It was such a special celebration and I’m so happy that my mom was honored in a way that she deserves.

Congratulations, Mom, on your retirement!  Your three (almost four!) grandbabies are especially excited that today is your last day!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Belinda Ellis permalink
    June 2, 2011 12:28 pm

    AWESOME Photos, Jenny. Know your mom feels so blessed. I’ll congratulate her on her page!

  2. Sandy Smith permalink
    June 2, 2011 8:17 pm

    Thank you so much for those sweet words about my teaching career.
    I will always be grateful that I chose to teach little ones. Never a dull moment in a first grade class!
    My next class will be my precious grandbabies. I am looking forward to this new adventure.
    Thanks again. I love you.
    Momma

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,045 other followers

