Skip to content

the big boy bed

June 17, 2011

Realistically, I have anywhere from 3-5 weeks left before Baby Rigney #2 arrives on the scene.  And at this point, I can’t say that I feel overly confident (or confident at all!) in my abilities to balance life with two little ones, ages two and under!

I’m definitely not naive to the fact that there is going to be quite the learning curve, especially in the beginning.  And I’m not assuming that just because I’ve had one child that I’m automatically prepared for two!

However, there has been one thing that I’ve been banking on to help me.  Just one.little.thing (in addition to the grace of God, of course) that I was certain would help me with the new adjustment.

That One Thing was the fact that we were planning to keep Sam in his crib and our newborn in our room for the first few months; each child having their own bed, safe and secure, and Unable To Get Out!  This way, if I needed 15 minutes to take a shower, I could.  If I needed 10 minutes to run to the basement and start a load of laundry (without the fear of Sam sitting on the baby), no problem!  I’d just put Sam in the crib with some books and the baby in the bassinet. Shower taken.  Laundry done.  Crisis averted.

And then things changed.  (Don’t they always?!)

I went in to get Sam from his nap the other day and found this…

My child.  Completely naked.  And climbing out of his crib.  He was actually diving head first towards the hardwood floors and I caught him (I almost went into labor doing so, but the important thing is that I did in fact catch him).  And the naked thing?  Don’t get me started.  I’m hoping it’s a phase, but the kid just prefers to live a more “natural” lifestyle.  Actually, he just recently began taking off his pajamas and yelling, “Diaper Off!”, almost as a threat if we didn’t hurry up and retrieve him from his crib.  “You better come in and get me or the diaper is coming OFF!”  

I was on the phone with Joe within two minutes explaining to him what had happened, and by that evening, we had bought and assembled Sam’s first big boy bed.

This milestone was not on our radar, on purpose.  We were hoping to keep Sam in his crib for as long as we could.  However, all things considered, we’re actually really happy this change took place before we bring the baby home.

And here’s the wonderful part: Sam loves, and I mean loves, his big boy bed.  I know this transition can be really tricky for a lot of kids, but for whatever reason, Sam has really taken to his bed.

He did not get out of his bed a single time the first night and he actually stayed in bed until we came in and got him the next morning.  Naps have been the same way.  We know this might not always be the case, so we are just thankful that for now it seems to be a really smooth and fun transition for him!  Oh, and a fully clothed one as well- thank the Lord!

I guess I’ll just have to come up with another way to take a shower and do laundry in a few weeks.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky permalink
    June 17, 2011 7:46 am

    That little bed is so cute! I can’t believe he is actually big enough to be climbing out of his crib. where has the time gone??

  2. therigneys permalink*
    June 17, 2011 7:54 am

    I know, Beck! As we were taking down his crib, I was thinking….”Good thing I have another baby on the way or else I might be crying right now!”

  3. Jenn A permalink
    June 17, 2011 8:07 am

    Well, at least he was CLEAN and naked and you caught him. I’ve heard some very messy stories….
    I love his big boy bed. Aiden did really well with his bed transition at that age too. Maybe “book time” on the bed will be a good way to keep him in one spot while you start the laundry. You will figure it out.

  4. June 17, 2011 8:23 am

    Oh Jenny I’m just smiling. That picture of Sam is g-r-e-a-t. You did such a cute job with his bed. He is so big now. Filling his “big” brother shoes already.

  5. June 17, 2011 9:25 am

    oh how cute! he’s getting so big. I hope I don’t burst into tears at his 2nd birthday party tomorrow… he’s growing too fast for me! ;)

  6. Sandy Smith permalink
    June 17, 2011 10:43 am

    Will there be room for me in there too??

  7. June 17, 2011 12:56 pm

    I think that was about the age Orison transitioned and he also LOVED it! He never got out of bed. I think he thought the same rules applied to the bed as the crib, so he had no other concept of getting himself out of bed. It looks adorable!

  8. June 17, 2011 1:21 pm

    Norah loves the big bed and doesn’t leave it until we come and tell her she can get up. I seriously recommend this rule, by the way. It’s very helpful.

    Wanted to say too that Norah went through that take-off-the-diaper-isn’t-this-fun-hey-what’s-this-stuff-in-it-guess-it’s-paint-i’ll-smear-it-on-the-wall stage also. Happy times.

  9. Gigi permalink
    June 17, 2011 1:41 pm

    So cute. Glad the transition went well. I need a place with Sassy as well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,043 other followers

