Skip to content

we’re at the hospital!

July 13, 2011

I’m 39 weeks today, and Lord-willing, our second child’s birthday will be tomorrow.  Are we ready?  Well, we are as ready as we are going to be!  We said a tearful goodbye to our Sam this evening and headed to the hospital, leaving him in the wonderful, loving care of my mom who quickly moved up her flight and flew in from Texas this afternoon.

As of right now, I’m 4 cm and 70 % effaced.  Contractions aren’t too bad yet, so I’m glad for that.  I was thinking about posting a picture of my swollen ankles just to prove that they were used as a body double in The Nutty Professor, but I didn’t think y’all could handle it.

My nurses are as sweet as pie.  Hmm…pie sounds good about right now!  I’m not “technically” supposed to be eating right now, however, I am sneaking a couple of these whenever my nurses aren’t looking…

Joe and I are just relaxing in our room, about to watch the latest episode of Master Chef with our eyes on this little machine throughout the night.

I’m also getting a good kick out of all the funny texts coming my way.  My friend, Sally, just sent me one that made me laugh so hard I thought my water broke.  Which I guess isn’t a bad thing.

If you think about us in the next 24 hours or so, please pray for a smooth labor and delivery.  I’ve been told that delivery gets easier the more children you have, so I’m hoping that this time around things will go a lot quicker than last time.

We are getting really excited to meet this little baby of ours who has felt like such a mystery these past 9 months.  What in the world are we going to feel when we see his/her face for the first time?  We can’t wait!

Our hearts are so full right now.

Thank you for praying for us, and check back soon so we can introduce our little one to you…

17 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 8:26 pm

    You look beautiful, sweet girl. You ALWAYS make me laugh.
    Praying for you, Joe, baby, and of course, little Sam who is sleeping comfortably in his big boy bed with all of his stuffed animals surrounding him.
    Love you, Momma

  2. July 13, 2011 8:42 pm

    You are just beautiful Jenny. I will be praying for an easy delivery. I can’t wait to see your new precious baby.
    Love, Donna

  3. Jenn A permalink
    July 13, 2011 8:54 pm

    You look great! Sweet and relaxed! I’m so glad your mom could get here right away for you. Praying for you and baby. You are going to be overwhelmed with love all over again!

  4. Becky permalink
    July 13, 2011 9:16 pm

    I absolutely LOVE seeing all these beautiful pictures of you. You look so serene and lovely. I am terribly excited to meet your new little one and I want to spoil him/her. I’m praying for you! I love you, Jenny Rigney!

  5. Chris K permalink
    July 13, 2011 9:16 pm

    The King Knitter is almost finished with His design…..and ready to have it displayed to the world. Can’t wait to see!!!

  6. July 13, 2011 9:29 pm

    I can’t believe you wrote an entire blog post complete with amazing photos WHILE IN LABOR! You are incredible, Jenny!! This baby already has an amazing mommy! Praying for the next 24 hours…

  7. Margie Scroggins Barger permalink
    July 13, 2011 9:36 pm

    Praying for you! Love that you are writing on your blog and in labor. Such a calm multi-tasker! Beautiful pictures! Praying for you and your family!

  8. July 13, 2011 9:46 pm

    Jen, you crack me up! I can’t believe those photos of you just smiling sweetly at your belly as if you haven’t been up late all week and had awful back labor for several nights already. Ha! Love you.

    We’re praying for you, Joe, and Baby! We can’t WAIT to meet baby Rigs!

  9. July 13, 2011 9:48 pm

    awesome. highlights look great. i’m standing outside your room right now.

  10. July 13, 2011 9:49 pm

    ok. i’m kidding. i’m at home.

  11. betsy permalink
    July 13, 2011 10:25 pm

    Love your hair! Oh, and yes, I am praying all goes well. :) Love you, friend!

  12. July 13, 2011 10:43 pm

    how do you look so good in labor?? praying for you guys and excited to hear what baby rigney is!

  13. July 14, 2011 12:01 am

    The Winslow’s will be sending medium distance prayers from Oregon!

  14. July 14, 2011 4:39 am

    AAAHHH! been waiting and waiting for this! can’t wait for new little rig. Love you!!

  15. Liz permalink
    July 14, 2011 7:06 am

    Waiting, waiting, waiting….you look adorable in these pictures!! Only you Jenny – I am praying!! Love you guys!!

  16. Karla permalink
    July 14, 2011 7:28 am

    praying!! SO excited for you guys and for Sam who will be a big brother!! Umm also, you look fantastic!!

  17. July 14, 2011 3:17 pm

    Those are beautiful pictures of you, Jen! I have been obsessively checking all my lines of communication all day.

    I told Jenna, I know I should *hope* for a less eventful L&D this time, but your *last* one was so hysterical that I kinda want you to top it. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 991 other followers

