Skip to content

across the pond

August 11, 2011

Our dear friends from across the pond stopped in for a quick visit this past week on their way out of the country.  Our short amount of time together was a complete tease and I discovered that it doesn’t take much for me to begin pouting like a little child when I don’t get my way.  You see, Joe and I want the Kirks to live next door to us, but God has other plans and would have them live in Oxford, England.  So, once again, I joyfully submitted myself to God’s will by pouting the whole drive home.

Although our visit was brief, it was indeed sweet.  I was reminded once again that the Lord’s grace is more than sufficient to sustain the friendships He gives, no matter how large or small the pond is that separates you.

Alex, Norah, Betsy, and Harriet…

The last time I saw Betsy, she was pregnant with this sweet little one…

Peter got to meet his ‘Auntie Bets’ for the first time…

Roger, Alex, Joe, Brian, and Ryan…

Our friends, the Scharfs, meeting Peter for the first time…

Haley and her sweet little Anna…

Sam thinks she is sweet too…

Anna is giving Sam a tour of their garden (the hug worked!)…

Girls = sit sweetly on picnic blankets…

Boys = chase each other with garden rakes…

Babies = melt your heart…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2011 10:06 am

    I can’t help but sing “Harriet…sweet Harriet…” (from So I Married an Ax Murderer) when I see that baby! She’s sooooo adorable! I’m glad you got to visit with them, even if it was brief.

  2. August 13, 2011 8:52 pm

    It was so good to visit with the Kirks…

    These are such fun pictures! Will you email some of these to us? It’s so sweet to see all these “small group babies” — which were just a twinkle in the eye a few years ago!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,043 other followers

