Skip to content

happy 1 month birthday, peter!

August 14, 2011

One month ago today, we joyfully welcomed this little guy into the world.  In four short weeks, our hearts have doubled in size and our home is now filled with more love, more joy, more happiness, more cries, more smiles, and more thanksgiving than it was five weeks ago.

Peter is a sweet baby.  A quiet baby.  A patient baby.  A cuddly baby.  A hungry baby.  And a sleepy baby.  I call him my “angel baby” because his temperament is so mild and gentle.  I think he might be my shy child and just a little more quiet than his big brother.  I love the differences and similarities that I see between them.  We love having Peter in our family!

At month one, Peter weighs a little more than 10 pounds.  He eats every 3 hours in the day and wants to eat every 1-2 hours in the evening.  We feed him right before we go to bed, usually around 10:30 pm and we don’t hear from him until around 4:30-5:00 am.  After his early morning feeding, he wants to eat every 3 hours.  We are really thankful for a baby who seems to be free from reflux.  When Sam was a month old, we would have to change his clothes at least 5 times a day- it’s nice to be able to keep Peter in the same outfit all day if we want.

At this point, Peter isn’t on any sort of schedule.  I’m not too structured when my babies are this little because they sleep all the time, so trying to figure out naps at this point is a little more tricky.  He doesn’t have his days and nights confused any more and that’s always my first concern.

The brothers are cute together.  When Sam talks to Peter or asks where Peter is, he doesn’t just say, “Hello, Peter!” or “Where is Peter?”, but “Hello Peter-Peter Punkin’ Eater” or “Where is Baby Peter Punkin’ Eater?”  For the most part, Sam is very sweet with Peter, except when he is trying to steal Peter’s pacifiers, of course. Peter’s nicknames from mom and dad are a little shorter, we call him Prince Peter, Punkin’-Doodle, Petey, Bubba, and Bubby.

Peter has the best head of hair I’ve ever seen, it’s amazing.  It’s super spiky and makes the best little mohawk. None of his hair has fallen out yet, he just keeps growing more.  We definitely think he is our little fair-skinned, red-headed, adorable little boy and we could stare at this sweet little face all day long.

We have had some incredible help this first month.  My mom has been here the entire time, taking care of all the household needs so I can just relax, recover, and bond with our new little baby.  I’m not quite sure how we are going to function when she is gone, Sam has become quite attached to his Sassy.  Joe’s mom was also here for a week (which was great!) and will be back with the rest of Joe’s family in September for another visit.  We are spoiled in the best way possible!

Since Peter’s birth, I figured that I have probably fed him at least 240 times, changed his diaper around 300 times, burped him at least 500 times, and spent countless hours holding, kissing, singing, praying, and whispering I love you into his little ears.  My heart is filled to the brim with him in our lives- it is better than I ever expected.  Every fear I had about mothering two little ones lifted when I met him, not because I gained confidence in my abilities (it was actually quite the opposite!), but because I felt my love for him.  And when all else fails, the little ones under my roof will know they are loved.  Loved by me, by their dad, and by our good God who is the giver of every good thing.

It’s been a very good month.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenn A permalink
    August 14, 2011 2:34 pm

    Jenny, he is so sweet and the brothers are so sweet together! I love Sam’s nickname for him and I love seeing all the pictures.

  2. August 14, 2011 8:55 pm

    So sweet…I can’t believe he’s a month old already!

  3. Nancygirl permalink
    August 15, 2011 5:56 am

    This is a superb one month tribute to your newest little one. Congratulations to your family on it’s newest addition. I love the combination of Sam and Peter as brother names. You are a great Mom Jenny, and it is such a pleasure to feel a closeness to you and your family through the written words you offer those who love you. Thank you.

  4. Melinda permalink
    August 15, 2011 9:38 am

    Ok. Why can’t I look at one picture of him without tearing up?! Aunt Min needs to hold you, Peter!

  5. August 15, 2011 1:43 pm

    Oh so sweet! Congrats to you guys. :)

    BTW, that green star onesie is *adorable*! Where did you get it??

  6. therigneys permalink*
    August 17, 2011 2:29 pm

    Rosanna,

    I got it at Carters! It came in a pack with 4 other long sleeved onesies. I think you would like all of them! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,049 other followers

