Skip to content

the BEST brownies

September 8, 2011

In just a bit, my husband will be home from work and we will hop in the car to go pick up our new-to-us treadmill (winter workouts here we come!)  To celebrate, I thought it was only appropriate to make homemade brownies.

My husband has told me that I have a habit of using extremes when talking about something that really excites me.  I don’t believe his accusation is warranted though.  I never, and I mean never ever use extremes.  I always, always, always get straight to the point and leave out the fluff.  However, if there was ever a time to use extremes, it would be when talking about these brownies.

My friend, Karla, brought a pan of these over to my house a few weeks ago and I think I remember saying something along the lines of, “I’d leave my husband for these brownies they’re so good!”  I know, I shouldn’t joke like that.  But you see, I really don’t like brownies.  Never have.  And I’m not a big fan of chocolate either (I realize some of you just questioned my womanhood), so when I tried these brownies and loved them, I knew I needed to pass them along!

Karla sent me the recipe and I made a pan for our college guys today.  They agreed, they are just the best brownies!

And kid approved, too!

The BEST brownies

10 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks, 5 ounces or 141 grams) unsalted butter
1 1/4 cups (9 7/8 ounces, 280 grams) sugar
3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons (2 7/8 ounces, 82 grams) unsweetened cocoa powder (natural or Dutch-process)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 large eggs, cold
1/2 cup (66 grams, 2 3/8 ounces) all-purpose flour
2/3 cup walnut or pecan pieces (optional)

Position a rack in the lower third of the oven and preheat the oven to 325°F. Line the bottom and sides of an 8×8-inch square baking pan with parchment paper or foil, leaving an overhang on two opposite sides.

Combine the butter, sugar, cocoa, and salt in a medium heatproof bowl and microwave for 1:30 minutes. Remove and stir until the butter is melted and the mixture is smooth. Set aside briefly until the mixture is only warm, not hot. It looks fairly gritty at this point, but don’t fret — it smoothes out once the eggs and flour are added.

Stir in the vanilla with a wooden spoon. Add the eggs one at a time, stirring vigorously after each one. When the batter looks thick, shiny, and well blended, add the flour and stir until you cannot see it any longer, then beat vigorously for 40 strokes with the wooden spoon or a rubber spatula. Stir in the nuts, if using. Spread evenly in the lined pan.

Bake until a toothpick plunged into the center emerges slightly moist with batter, 25 to 30 minutes. Let cool completely on a rack.

Lift up the ends of the parchment or foil liner, and transfer the brownies to a cutting board. Cut into 16 or 25 squares.

Gain five pounds and then go run on your new treadmill.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 8:15 pm

    They were delicious and I want to try to make them soon. Yum! Wishing I had one right now!!

  2. brynn permalink
    September 8, 2011 8:37 pm

    Thanks!! I was actually looking for a good brownie recipe!

  3. Karla permalink
    September 8, 2011 9:07 pm

    so glad you liked them so much!! I found them and actually swooned. Like in a romantic comedy when the lead actress lifts up her back leg when she gets kissed… like that.

  4. September 9, 2011 7:19 am

    My mom has long held a reputation for the “Best Brownies” and, not wanting to be disloyal (gasp), I don’t especially like them. There’s just too much going on in them, in my opinion, and they commit the further sin of Not Being Fudgy Enough. I have long hunted for a recipe with ingredients easy to snag over here in England, and this looks like it. Bless you and i miss you and i”m making these right now.

  5. September 9, 2011 7:08 pm

    Jenny, I know that you’ve got your hands full, but I need to beg you to please make and post the recipe to (I’m not sure of the name, but this is what I call them) your ooey gooey toffee butter cakes. Remember those things? I can’t forget them! Kate Piehl and I were talking about them today :)

    Oh and I will definitely try these brownies.

  6. Sami Salazar permalink
    November 27, 2013 2:14 pm

    making this right now but I have to say I’m a little worried. No baking soda or powder? And wouldn’t half a cup translate to 4 oz?

  7. March 17, 2014 8:36 am

    this is now my go to recipe for brownies! LOVE LOVE!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 991 other followers

