Skip to content

said by sam

September 26, 2011

Sam has been on a roll lately.  Our days are a mix of uncontrollable laughter, scratching our heads in confusion, and thankfulness to God that most of what comes out of his mouth is in the privacy of our own home.

Here is just a recent sampling…

******************************

After seeing a man without a shirt on one day…

Sam:  “Momma, that man take his clothes off!”

Jen: “That’s right, Sam, that man didn’t have his shirt on.”

Sam: (pausing for a brief moment)…”He had his nipples on!”

Jen: “That’s right, he had his…wait What?!”

*******************************

After being told for months that he is such a BIG boy…

Jen: (singing Jesus Loves the Little Children)

Sam: No, no, Jesus loves da BIG children!

************************

After seeing a picture of our pastor…

Sam: “Look, Momma, that’s Piper John!”

Jen: “Do you mean Pastor John, Sam?”

Sam: “No, Piper John.”

I guess he is technically right?

*******************************

After I buckled Sam in his car seat, I sat down in the front seat and turned around to tell Sam that I love him.  After his reaction, I was determined to sit there and wait until he said it back…

Jen: “Sam, I love you”

Sam: (pretending like he didn’t hear me)

Jen: “Sam, I love you!”

Sam: (still playing hard to get and looking out the window)

Jen: “Sam, I LOVE you

Sam: (trying hard to hide his grin)

Jen: “Sam, I LOVE YOU!”

Sam: “Momma, Push the Pedals!!”

******************************

Sitting with me on my bed while I was feeding Peter…

Sam: “Momma, take Petuh’s nose off.”

Jen: “I can’t Sam, Peter needs his nose to breathe.”

Sam: “Momma, take his ears off!”

Jen: “Peter needs his ears to hear, I can’t take them off.”

Sam: “Momma, take Petuh’s mouth off!”

Jen: “Sam, I’m not going to take Peter’s mouth off, he needs it to eat.”

Sam: “Momma, take Petuh’s head off!”

Jen: “Um, Sam, why do you want me to take your brother’s head off?”

Sam: “Cause that’s a Mr. Ta-to Head, Momma!”

******************************

While playing in the sunroom…

Sam: “Mom, Mom, Mom!!…where’s Jenna?!”

Jen: “She’s at her house taking care of her kids.”

Sam: “No, Mom! LEGO Jenna.”

*****************************

Meet Lego Jenna.

Along with Brent, Avery, Miles, Jillian and Phoebe…

And for the rest of Sam’s Lego Friends…

Daddy, Mommy, Sam, and Peter (doing what Peter does best- standing on chairs).

Papa and Sassy

Daddy Bill and Gigi

Uncle Ryan, Aunt Melinda, Colin, and Rylee

Uncle Danny and Uncle Robby

Nick and Becky Laparra

My parent’s pets: Maggie, Barney, and their pet tiger, Sydney

…and our pastor, Piper John

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2011 8:36 am

    Oh my goodness…he is adorable! Ps…where did you find so many great lego figures?

    • therigneys permalink*
      September 26, 2011 11:28 am

      They sell them all together in a box at the Lego Store!

  2. Jenn A permalink
    September 26, 2011 9:50 am

    Love it!

  3. September 26, 2011 11:22 am

    this is hilarious. i think lego nick and lego becky made me laugh the hardest.

    • therigneys permalink*
      September 26, 2011 11:29 am

      I know, right! I crack up every time!

      • September 26, 2011 10:05 pm

        i just showed it to dan and i still can’t stop laughing :) somebody needs to tell lego becky to lay off the tanning salon trips!

  4. September 26, 2011 11:24 am

    i like Lego Ryan’s outfit. nice shorts.

  5. September 26, 2011 3:28 pm

    I almost hurt myself from laughing so hard when I saw LEGO Nick and Becky (and I almost peed a little). I’m like the whitest girl ever in person. hahaha. That little boy is so hilarious, I swear.

  6. September 26, 2011 3:30 pm

    and now I can’t stop laughing at what everyone else looks like. and their outfits. and peter on the chair. i’m just glad Joe is wearing a hat.

  7. September 27, 2011 8:21 pm

    I found your blog through Hannah, when she commented on the toddler busy bags, we go to BBC too. I just have to say that I am right there with you on little kid conversations. My 2 year old yells “nakey, nakey. Mommy, they nakey” when we walk through target and he sees the ads for the workout pants(you can see the midriff on the pictures.) And when my 3 year old was 2, when asked who John Piper is, would wave his arms around and get very animated, usually yelling something.

    And I love the Lego men. How fun! I might just have to run out and get them.

  8. thegereckes permalink
    September 30, 2011 2:54 am

    I personally like blonde Sassy with the cleavage :) You’re mom needs to get a grip!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,043 other followers

