Skip to content

a muffin tin lunch

October 4, 2011

We’ve been trying out muffin tin lunches lately, and I’ve noticed that the desire to eat healthier foods comes much easier to toddlers if you can find a fun way to serve it (which I’m happy to do some of the time!).  The example below wasn’t just for our toddler, though, both Joe and I joined Sam in eating our muffin tin clean.

This time, we filled our tins with craisins, walnuts, apples, peanut butter for dipping, carrot sticks, ranch dressing for dipping, green peas, garden fresh cherry tomatoes, mozzarella cheese, blueberries, hummus, and veggie chips.

My sister-in-law, Melinda, and nephew, Colin, will be visiting us from Texas soon, so I’ve decided to prepare lots of easy muffin tin fillers for the entire week so that we can just quickly grab snacks and make lunch for the boys without having to recreate the wheel five times a day.  I think they are going to love it!

Have any fun or creative ideas to help little ones try new foods?  Please share!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2011 11:54 pm

    We always encourage Norah–and now Harriet–to try new foods every time. I really think most toddler “dislikes” come from unfamiliarity and as they try things over and over, they get used to it and Hey! I like this, Mommy! At least that’s been our experience.

    I love your muffin tin. Ever since Norah started finger foods we’ve done a sort of “Pick Lunch” together most days–I put a bunch of veggies and fruits and wheat crackers and olives and cheeses and cold cuts, etc. whatever i have–on a big tray and we eat little piles. It’s easier to make, we waste less food, and we both like to eat that way.

    • October 4, 2011 11:55 pm

      Forgot to say your pictures are so beautiful! As always!

  2. October 5, 2011 11:10 am

    you’re so crazy creative, jenny

  3. October 5, 2011 11:18 am

    Looks great, but where is the tin filled with Blue Bell for dessert?

  4. October 5, 2011 11:19 am

    By the way, I really like the pretty blue muffin pan you’re using!

  5. Margaret V permalink
    October 5, 2011 4:53 pm

    Great idea! Found your post through the Laparras. This might be a breakthrough for my autistic son! (it keeps all the foods separate!) And I know the rest of us will enjoy it too :) I may get a 6-muffin tin just for this. I’m not sure I can come up with 12 ideas, lol.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,043 other followers

