Skip to content

the best time of day

October 11, 2011

It doesn’t matter what kind of day we’ve had.

It could have been glorious; filled with long autumn walks, enjoyable story-times, loads of laughter, and happy children…

…or it could have been filled with hurried schedules, fussy kids, burnt dinner, and an exhausted mommy.

Either way, there’s something wonderful, almost magical, that happens in our home around the same time every day.

And without fail, the hard days get a lot easier and the really good days get even better.

We hear the front door handle turn and all’s right in our little world.

Daddy’s home.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Joe Rigney permalink*
    October 11, 2011 9:01 am

    It’s the best time of my day.

  2. October 11, 2011 1:09 pm

    I’ve only just stumbled upon your blog (from pinterest because of your quite bag toys or whatever you called them.) I was drawn to stay and read awhile because I have two little boys as well, close to the same ages as yours, and my husband and I are missionaries in Auckland, New Zealand. I feel like I’m in a similar spot in life I guess.
    All that to say Daddy coming home is always the best part of our day as well. I love to see my oldest’s eyes light up when he sees Daddy come in the door.

  3. October 11, 2011 5:47 pm

    Ah, yes… I too know that exact moment when that door handles turns my load gets a little lighter.

  4. October 11, 2011 9:13 pm

    ah teary eyed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,042 other followers

