Skip to content

How I Know God Loves Me: Guest Post from Joe

October 22, 2011

Six years ago today, I married the most wonderful woman on the planet. We had no idea what we were getting into. There is no way we could have anticipated the challenges and wonders, the joys and sorrows, the laughter and the tears. The lows were lower than we expected. The highs were higher than we could have imagined. And we’ve only been at it for six years.

Chesterton once said that he never understood the common murmur among his generation (and ours) against monogamy. “Keeping one woman is a small price for so much as seeing one woman,” especially when you’re married to a woman as remarkable as the one I’ve found. He went on to note that “to complain that I could only be married once is like complaining that I had only been born once. It was incommensurate with the terrible excitement of which one was talking.” He had a good marriage. So do I.

I regularly wake up and just shake my head that I have the life I have, that I live with the woman that I do, that she not only puts up with me, but seems to actually find me desirable and enjoy my company (most of the time). She even lets me be seen with her in public. It’s one of the reasons that I believe in a good God.

I mean, if He wasn’t there, then where do all of these gifts come from? If he didn’t love me, then why is there a gorgeous woman waiting for me every day when I come home from work? If a wise God doesn’t run this show, then how do you explain the clean laundry in my closet, the salsa in my fridge, and the brownies on the table? If the steadfast love of the Lord does not endure forever, then what’s up with all of the laughter, joy, and conversation that lives in my house and sleeps in my bed? Do you think the house makes itself look this clean and inviting? If God is not love, then explain her.

And that doesn’t even cover all of the downstream gifts that God has given me through her. I’m pretty sure that all of these people only put up with me because I’m covenantally bound to her. And someone had to carry, sustain, and birth these two (and keep them alive and happy day by day).

So, my dear, I can’t tell you how much I love our lives together. Words fail. I can just smile a big goofy grin and lift up a prayer of gratitude to the Father of Lights for knowing exactly what I would need in a friend, a companion, a helper, a wife. You continue to exceed my wildest expectations, and I know that Year 7 will be the best yet.

Happy Anniversary, Jen.

Love,

Your Joe

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Justin permalink
    October 22, 2011 5:37 pm

    I like Jenny’s better…it has pictures. Happy Anniversary. Love and miss you both.

    Justin

  2. Liz permalink
    October 23, 2011 6:34 am

    Priceless Joe!! The best part is that I know Jenny would write similar things about you!! Love you guys!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,042 other followers

