Skip to content

six years ago this day

October 22, 2011

We didn’t know all the things that God had in store for us when we exchanged our vows six years ago today.  Had He told us the whole story, I doubt we would have believed Him.

When I think about our years together- where we first started and where we are now- with all the joys and trials and victories and tears and laughter, I am filled with humble gratitude to our God for being so faithful to us.  I can’t help but think about the scripture text we chose for our marriage, He has yet to turn away from doing good to us.

I love being married to you.  You make the most simple and mundane things in life enjoyable.  I thought about this the other night after the boys were in bed and we sat on the couch and folded no less than ten loads of laundry together.  Something so ordinary and otherwise a drag was meaningful because I was sitting there with you.  Just talking and folding, talking and folding.  There isn’t anywhere I would have rather been.

So happy anniversary, my love, my very dearest friend.  You have made me one very happy wife.

“And they shall be my people, and I will be their God.  I will give them one heart and one way, that they may fear me forever, for their own good and the good of their children after them.  I will make with them an everlasting covenant, that I will not turn away from doing good to them.  And I will put the fear of me in their hearts, that they may not turn from me.  I will rejoice in doing them good, and I will plant them in this land in faithfulness, with all my heart and all my soul.” Jeremiah 32: 38-41

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 24, 2011 3:56 pm

    Happy Anniversary, a little late! 6 years — can you believe it??!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,049 other followers

