Skip to content

Advent Baskets

November 27, 2011

When I first moved to Minnesota in the winter of 2005, a wife of one of our pastors told me about an Advent Basket she was making for a friend of hers.  Have you ever heard of them?  I was intrigued because 1.) I wasn’t very familiar with celebrating Advent and wanted to learn more, and 2.) I’m certain that receiving giving “gift baskets” is my love language.

Fast-forward five years to when my good friend, Molly, reminded me about this tradition and encouraged us all to think about making a basket for someone, especially someone in need of encouragement during the holiday season.  This year, I decided to make one and give it to a dear friend of mine who wouldn’t be able to come home and celebrate Christmas with her extended family.  You typically aren’t supposed to reveal your identity until the recipient opens their last gift on Christmas Day, but I needed to mail my basket, so there goes the mystery! 

Is there anybody you know in need of some extra encouragement during the holiday season?  If so, keep this idea in mind when all of the after-Christmas sales are going on!  (Go read Molly’s post for more details and instructions on how to assemble one yourself!)

Happy first Sunday of Advent to you all!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tiffani permalink
    November 27, 2011 9:33 pm

    What a wonderful idea! My Daddy started his third round of Chemo tonight. He is not going to have a very fun Christmas season. This might brighten his days a bit.

    • therigneys permalink*
      November 27, 2011 10:42 pm

      Tiffani, I’m so sorry to hear about your father. My dad recently finished radiation for prostate cancer, so I can empathize with you. It’s hard when the ones you love are ill. I’ll be praying for your dad and maybe getting an Advent Basket would be an encouragement to him!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,049 other followers

