Skip to content

homesick

January 17, 2012

I carried this picture in my mind as our plane landed in Minnesota earlier today.  It was my first time flying alone with both boys, and if I wasn’t convinced of the Lord’s kindness towards me before, I am now. Both boys slept almost the entire trip.  It’s as if He knew I was especially sad today.

I’m also convinced of the Lord’s sense of humor when I, myself, awoke from a brief nap to find my toddler hovering over me and laughing.  It just so happens that while I was asleep, my eldest managed to acquire a set of Southwest Airlines wings and apply them ever so gently to my upper lip.  I was hoping it was just a dream when I heard Sam loudly exclaim, “Look, Momma, it’s a mustache!”

No matter how much time passes, leaving home never gets easier.  A place where families love us so incredibly well.  Where there are friendships so deep in my heart that I physically ache to be away from them.  Where little cousins are becoming the closest of friends.  Where there’s a mother, who after all these years, still snuggles with me on the couch.  And most importantly, Chick-fil-A.

I have no room to complain, though.  I returned to another home today, sweet in some of the very same ways.  A beautiful city filled with a church, neighborhood, and people that we love immensely, and with a peace that we are exactly where the Lord wants us to be.

On days like today, however, I resonate with the young boy in the 1994 Caldecott winner, Grandfather’s Journey,

“…But I also miss the mountains and rivers of my childhood.  I miss my old friends.  So I return now and then, when I can not still the longing in my heart.

The funny thing is, the moment I am in one country, I am homesick for the other.”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2012 9:43 pm

    I know that Joe was so excited to see his family today. We had such a wonderful time with you all and are already looking forward to the next time we see you.
    Thank you for all the wonderful pictures of our precious babies. Kiss those sweet boys for Sassy.
    I love you,
    Momma

  2. January 18, 2012 1:16 am

    I just had to respond to this, J, and say I know. I know I know I know that feeling. Of living a distance like that from those you love like that. For me, YOU are one of those people.

  3. kristenpeters permalink
    January 18, 2012 3:52 am

    I feel for you. I hate that feeling of leaving home to come home. I always feel so torn because I love my family, but love my friends as well. Can’t wait to get to heaven and not have that feeling of being spread thin.

  4. January 18, 2012 12:47 pm

    just wanted to say i understand!!

  5. Emily Wright permalink
    January 24, 2012 7:54 pm

    I hope this isn’t totally creeper, I’ve been following your blog fr awhile and I went to the CFA website to see how far one was from your vicinity. There might be one at the UM campus? I don’t think it’s a full CFA but they might have sandwiches, nuggets, sauce and ice dream!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,049 other followers

