Skip to content

the life-changing power of cheerios

January 22, 2012

Tonight was so unexpected.

Both boys are sick, so only Joe was able to go to church tonight.  I spent a portion of the evening converting one of our kitchen doors into a chalkboard.  While I was painting, Sam and Peter were Skyping with my mom to keep them busy while I finished up.  When they said their goodbyes, Sam entered into one of his I Miss My Family funks that he’s been having ever since we left Texas.

So, I did what any reasonable mother who had just spent the last hour sniffing paint would do: I put him straight into the bathtub with some animals and a bowl of Cheerios (sometimes we all need a little help getting out of our moods, don’t we?)  I know it might sound crazy, but he loved it.  Funk gone, happy child returned, we all won.

The craziness continued after I put Peter to bed.  Not only did Cheerios cure the blues, but they turned Sam into a silly mess.  He was dancing around, completely nude if I might add, while I cleaned up the kitchen.

I thought now was as good a time as any to bring up potty training with him.  Last time I brought this subject up, I was 34 weeks pregnant and threw in the towel after just one day of trying.  However, he just returned from Texas after seeing his cousin successfully use the potty every day.  I’ve gotta use this to my advantage, right?  Afterall, he wants to be just like Colin when he grows up.

I’ve heard you shouldn’t bribe your kids to use the potty.  I’ve also heard you shouldn’t spank them.

Me: “Sam, I’ll give you a jelly belly if you go pee-pee on the potty!”

Sam: “Okay!”

(Sam runs off and brings his little potty into the kitchen)

Me: “Okay Sam, sit down and go pee-pee and I’ll give you a treat!”

Sam: “Like Colin?”

Me: “Yes! Like Colin!”

Two minutes pass…

Me: “You can do it, Sam!  Show Me The Pee-Pee!!”

Another minute passes…

Sam: “I did it! I did it! The pee-pee came out!”

Forget one jelly belly, I gave him the whole jar.

We danced. We hugged. We celebrated.  We called grandparents and cousins.  Everyone cheered.

Fifteen minutes passed and Sam said he had to go to the potty again.  This is to good to be true, I thought.  He is actually telling me that he needs to go potty.

Me: “Okay, Sam, let’s try to go on the BIG potty.”  (Shoot for the stars, right?)

Sam: (About to fall through the toilet seat) “I wanna get off!”

Me: “Okay, let’s try standing on the stool”

Sam: (Looking at me like I’ve completely lost my mind)

Me: “Oh wait, I’ll be right back!”

….

Sam: “What you got, Momma?”

Me: “Okay Sam, do you see these Cheerios, I want you to point and aim at the Cheerios!”

Sam: (Looking at me like I’m the most amazing mom EVER) “Look they’re floating!”

Me: “Yes Sam, they’re floating! Okay- I want you to pee-pee and try to aim for the Cheerios, You can do it!”

….

The moments following were some of the funniest and most proud moments I’ve had since becoming a mom.  Sam was not only successful, but so proud of himself.  We cheered so loud we almost woke Peter up.

The best part of all?  Joe had come home without us hearing.  When we turned around, he was standing in the hall…witnessing the entire thing.

Before bed, Sam asked if he could practice aiming at Peter’s Puffs tomorrow.  You know, the pricey, organic ones.

Me: “No Sam, Puffs are not for peeing on. Only Cheerios.”

You gotta draw the line somewhere.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky Crowell permalink
    January 22, 2012 9:48 pm

    Oooo! Wow, Jen… haha! So good.

  2. January 22, 2012 10:02 pm

    If I didn’t love you and your boys before, I am all the more in love now. You are hilarious, Jenny! Good job! :)

  3. Jenn A permalink
    January 23, 2012 6:42 am

    Great story! Write it down! I’ve heard that the Cheerio thing works, but never tried it. I guess I have one more chance here before too long.

  4. Michelle LUbbers permalink
    January 23, 2012 9:32 am

    Way to go Mom, errr… your son. Great mom moment, I felt the same way. Yay for peeing on the potty =).

  5. January 23, 2012 10:15 am

    I, too, will do almost anything for a jelly belly!!! Way to go, Sam!

  6. January 23, 2012 12:49 pm

    Well that cheered me up. Needed it, too. Thanks, dear.

    Remember this? https://partofthemain.wordpress.com/2010/11/24/wee-training-step-one/

    Does Sam need any English wee-ding material?

  7. January 23, 2012 7:37 pm

    Way to go, Jenny! So happy for you and Sam. :)

  8. Krystle permalink
    January 29, 2012 9:27 am

    This is one of the best blog posts I’ve ever read. I visit your blog when I need a pick me up – this definitely did the trick.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,044 other followers

