Skip to content

top 10 :: my favorite musicals

February 27, 2012

I watched very little television growing up in my parent’s home. Other than an episode of Reading Rainbow every now and then, my earliest memory of any screen time I had was not until the third grade. I’m grateful for this really. My parents filtered out much of the junk and left room for classic shows and movies that I still love today.

Little House on the Praire aired every morning at nine o’clock on TBS. I was home-schooled at the time and Laura Ingalls was my first subject of the day. To this day, my mom and I begin to feel nostalgic (in a sappy sort of way) when we hear the opening theme song (anyone else imagining three sisters running through the prairie grass about right now?).

It was around this time that my mom also introduced me to the world of musicals. These movies quickly made an impression on me and I devoured as many of them as I could. I can’t imagine my childhood (or life for that matter) without the friendships I’ve shared with ‘Fräulein Maria’, ‘Dolly Levi’, ‘Esther Smith’, and my dear ‘Calamity Jane’.

I will never forget the time I first saw The Sound of Music. Then and now, it remains my favorite. And in honor of last night’s 84th Academy Awards, here are nine more classics that are winners in my heart.

1. The Sound of Music- “I tried to give this dress to the poor, but they didn’t want it!” Oh how I love you, Maria.

2. Meet Me in St. Louis- Of all the musicals, I have re-watched this one the most. I can’t imagine it ever growing old on me. To this day, I wish I could dress like Esther, ride around on an ice truck, make homemade catsup on the stove, and hang out of a trolly while singing my heart out.

3. Seven Brides for Seven Brothers- Don’t you just love a girl who has her priorities straight? Like Milly for instance, who refused to marry Adam Pontipee until “she finished her chores”. I must also say that I used to have a major crush on Benjamin Pontipee, which left me jealous of a girl named, Dorcas.

4. Calamity Jane- Doris Day is just so great in this one.

5. Fiddler on the Roof- Joe and I got to see Chaim Topol in person during in his final tour of Fiddler when they came to Minneapolis, it was wonderful!

6. State Fair- I credit this movie for my fascination with the Minnesota State Fair. We go every year, and I must watch this movie the night before, it’s tradition.

7. Hello, Dolly! - When Joe asked me to marry him, I was on the fence. That was, however, until he busted out his Louis Armstrong impersonation. Sealed the deal!

8. Annie- To this day, I have a hard time watching anything starring Carol Burnett. Regardless, I can’t help but love this little curly redhead.

9. The Wizard of Oz- I’m embarrassed to admit how long it took me to realize that this movie was just Dorothy’s dream and that her uncles were the Tin Man, Scarecrow, and Lion.

10. White Christmas- I remember watching this one for the first time with my grandmother, who loved Bing more than any of us.

Would you believe that I have never seen My Fair Lady and Singin’ in the Rain all the way through? And it’s been so long since I’ve given Carousel, Oklahoma, The King and I, and South Pacific a try. They never stuck with me when I was young, so I haven’t bothered since.

What are your favorite musicals? Do tell.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. gina permalink
    February 27, 2012 8:22 am

    guys and dolls and singing in the rain (grandsons fav )

  2. February 27, 2012 8:59 am

    I loved your list, and grew up to the same sounds, excepting FIDDLER and ANNIE, which I don’t get at all. In their places I’d have SINGING IN THE RAIN and MY FAIR LADY. Seriously, J, watch them all the way through.

  3. February 27, 2012 9:01 am

    WAIT–can’t believe I forgot to say that I ALSO LOVED BENJAMIN. Seriously, that boy was handsome. But rather than envying Dorcas I just pretended I WAS her, only I re-named her Millie in my daydreams, since “Dorcas” wasn’t my cup of tea.

  4. February 27, 2012 12:29 pm

    We are big fans of Chaim Topol in Fiddler on the Roof. Our 6 year old knows all the songs and dialogue, we even took her to see Fiddler on the Roof on Broadway San Diego. It was amazing. I like your list, I am also a classic movie kind of girl/musicals. I would add to this list:
    Thoroughly Modern Millie
    Gigi
    Down Argentine Way or any Carmen Miranda film

    I have a collection of my favorite classics.

  5. February 27, 2012 2:12 pm

    I can still hear my little girl running through the house singing,”Meet me in St. Louie, Louie”!!

  6. Liz permalink
    February 27, 2012 7:40 pm

    Oh Jenny…Mari and I are reading this post together… Fasten your seat belt, here we go!! We actually watched “Guys and Dolls” this afternoon (she is home sick from school). Why wasn’t “Holiday Inn” on the list? “Annie Get Your Gun” is another good one and on our list. “Easter Parade” also lives on our shelves. And Mari is wondering, “No Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers for you?” Obviously, we share your love of the finer films in life. And…Little House on the Prairie was part of Mari’s home school daily lunch regimen as well; we felt the nostalgia just reading about the theme song. You have brightened our day!!

  7. February 27, 2012 7:58 pm

    You’ve GOT TO SEE “My Fair Lady”! You’ll be singing “I could have danced all night” all night long!

    Also, here’s a link to the oil mister I have…I think I had the wrong link in my blog, but here’s the right one….http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0053PZHVY/ref=s9_simh_gw_p79_d1_g79_i3?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=0Q1Q5BHT8VGY4WRP4HHB&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=470938631&pf_rd_i=507846

  8. February 28, 2012 7:22 am

    the sound of music is my favorite…i would line my younger siblings up and perform the songs just like the von trapp kids…

    i also love my fair lady…

    and the newsies!! you have to raise boys on the newsies…if you haven’t seen that, you must now…

  9. Becky permalink
    March 13, 2012 7:29 pm

    I LOVED this post because my absolute favorite movies growing up were Disney movies and musicals! My momma raised us right :)

    You have to give those ones a try again that you haven’t finished or seen in a long time.

    My all-time favorites are:
    Oklahoma (the best ever)
    Seven Brides for Seven Brothers
    Fiddler on the Roof
    The Sound of Music
    Hello, Dolly! (also the best ever)
    White Christmas
    Singin’ in the Rain

    Goodness…I want to watch them all right now! I really just love them all! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,039 other followers

