Skip to content

If you could spend 4 days in New York, what would you do?

March 21, 2012

Central Park, New York

Next week, my husband is putting me on a plane and sending me to New York to meet up with one of my best friends for a few days.  I am beside myself with excitement!  And I’m especially excited about all the things that I would’ve taken for granted before having children; like sleeping in (or sleeping through the night, period!), taking a long shower, and flying on a plane all by myself (what does one even do on a plane when they’re not entertaining toddlers, bouncing babies, and shoving unhealthy amounts of pre-packaged snacks into the mouths of these said children?)!  My husband told me just to sleep on the plane- he’s a good man that, Joe Rigney.

Marian and I have talked about going on a trip together for years, so this feels like such a treat for my 30th birthday!  I have been to New York once before, but that was twelve years ago and I didn’t appreciate it near as much as I will now.  This will be my friend’s first time.

Both Marian and I compiled sort of a New York Bucket List.  It started out pretty small, but the list keeps growing and growing and growing!  Problem is, we won’t be staying ’till May.  Our stay will last four days, three nights.  The hotel is already booked, but our schedule is wide-open.

This is where you can help (I hope)!

If you had four days to spend in New York City, what would you do?  Where would you visit first?  Where would you eat?  If you’d go to Broadway, what show is a Must See?  What are your favorite spots in the Big Apple that we shouldn’t miss?

You know I love lists, so I’d be so grateful if you made my day and shared your New York Bucket List with me!  Have any little tips or advice to share about exploring NYC? …I want to hear them!

I’ll be sure to report back with all the fun that was had.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Rose Ehrlich permalink
    March 21, 2012 2:42 pm

    I was most impressed with Ellis Island – My second recommendation is the Rockettes!!!
    By the way, I absolutely love your website. It brings back buried memories of my mothering days. Rose

  2. March 21, 2012 2:50 pm

    One of the coolest things I did this fall in NYC was going to the 9/11 Memorial–we went on a tour led by the 9/11 Tribute Center. http://www.tributewtc.org I HIGHLY recommend it!

    We went to see Chicago on Broadway–it’s kind of risqué but it was so good!

    Eat pizza.

    Where are you staying? We stayed in SoHo & went multiple times to the Bloomingdale’s there. There’s tons of other fun stores & boutiques in the ares.

    You can ride the Staten Island Ferry for free–about 15-20 minutes each way I think–it goes right by the Statue of Liberty & gives an awesome view of the NYC skyline.

    That’s all I can think of now! Ya’ll have fun!!

  3. JenJen permalink
    March 21, 2012 4:03 pm

    Definitely the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and also if you have time, go to The Cloisters ( http://www.metmuseum.org/visit/visit-the-cloisters/ – part of the Met but in a different location), especially if you are at all interested in Medieval European art and architecture.
    The Holocaust Museum: http://www.mjhnyc.org/findex.html is interesting, as is the American Indian Museum: http://nmai.si.edu/home/ (they are near each other, and also near the 911 memorial). There is a free shuttle bus that runs around downtown Manhattan called the Downtown Connection, and the drivers are all very friendly and helpful: http://www.downtownny.com/getting-around/downtown-connection and for longer trips the subway is great and safe too.

  4. March 21, 2012 4:05 pm

    Oh my gosh Jenny, go see Wicked!

    I’m SO jealous that you’re going to NYC! I love it there so much. Of course, it does hold sentimental value for me too, since that’s where Nick and I got engaged! (diagonally across from Radio City Music Hall)

    Have so much fun! :)

  5. March 21, 2012 6:44 pm

    I think you and Marian should take your Mothers. We’ll make sure you have a good time seeing all the sights!!

  6. March 22, 2012 12:40 pm

    Still thinking it would be more fun with your Mothers along! hee hee

  7. Tammy Fort permalink
    March 23, 2012 1:03 pm

    Go see “Newsies”! It is one of the Fort Girls’ favorite musicals of all time!

  8. Susie Tiemeyer permalink
    March 23, 2012 4:14 pm

    I’ve always wanted to visit Times Square Church. Reverend Wilkerson, who died last year, had a heart for the downtrodden and marginalized. Visiting that church is on my bucket list.

  9. March 23, 2012 4:28 pm

    you should ask Shiloh! she and Chris went a few years ago and did EVERYTHING they could in 3-4 days…

  10. Alison permalink
    March 23, 2012 8:14 pm

    Just started reading your blog. I love NYC. What to do? EAT!

    1. Dos Caminos (around 32nd street area) – favorite favorite favorite, if you eat for lunch/brunch you get a free drink and dessert with your meal, and get the guacamole which they make to order
    2. Freidman’s Lunch – Inside Chelsea Market – this is the home of Food Network (top floors which you can’t get access to), but the bottom floor has sweet little shops, delis, and they usually have a sample sale going on
    3. Pastis – Meatpacking District
    4. Magnolia Bakery and the whole village area around there with little shops

    Also, if you like tours, try to book a movie or television show bus tour. A friend and I booked the Sex in the City bus tour and it was SO fun.

    Touristy stuff is also fun, recommend MoMA, top of the Rock, TImes Square, etc.

    Have fun!

  11. Liz permalink
    March 24, 2012 8:07 am

    I LOVE NYC!! Have so much fun…walk and walk and walk. You’re right; there are too many things to try and do. Pick a couple and then enjoy watching people – Go to the top of the Empire State Building and relive all of the movies that take place there as you look out over the city. Central Park is lovely. Can’t wait to hear all about it.

  12. Cathy Hipps permalink
    March 24, 2012 8:14 am

    Gee, can’t imagine why you weren’t satisfied with that trip 12 years ago! We had such great accommodations!

    Last time I went, I saw Shrek on Broadway. Great show! Also saw White Christmas but I doubt it is on now.

    Have a great time!

    • Cathy Hipps permalink
      March 24, 2012 8:17 am

      Hey, I’m one of your moms, too.

  13. nateandmiriam permalink
    March 24, 2012 5:38 pm

    eat new york style pizza…

    and have breakfast outside tiffanys…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,045 other followers

