Skip to content

sam’s new roommate

April 11, 2012

When Joe came home from work the other day, I greeted him with his four least favorite words in the entire world: I Have An Idea! After giving him my whole spiel, he was quickly on board. It was time to move Peter out of our room and into Sam’s.

Our rationale, really, for keeping Peter in our room all this time was two-fold: 1.) We thought the boys would wake each other up in the middle of the night (or too early in the morning), and 2.) We value being a well-rested family too much to let that happen.

After a weird couple of weeks with both boys waking up in the middle of the night, I figured we might as well put them in the same room. I mean, if we’re all waking up anyways, we might as well teach them how to share a room at the same time!

So far, it’s going way better than we expected. But we were expecting the worst, so we set ourselves up for success I guess? Here’s a little tour of how we configured the beds…

It took a little bit of rearranging, but we made it work and are over-the-moon with the new change, Sam included. His exact words to us were, “When I wake up in the morning, I am not going to cry, I am just going to laugh and play with Peter.”

Looks like Sam wasn’t the only one happy with the new change…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2012 7:16 am

    I love it so much. And Sam’s comments are getting cuter and cuter. Nick doesn’t get over joyed when I say I have an idea either :)

  2. April 11, 2012 1:19 pm

    Way to go, guys! I LOVE having the girls in the same room–we started this when Harriet was three or four months and, weirdly, they almost always don’t wake up when/if the other one wakes in the night. I guess they get used to each other–and it’s so cute how they play together and giggle when they wake up in the morning.

    Hot Tip: We did have to tell Norah not to fill Harriet’s “crib” (it’s a pack & play) entirely with toys (she has done this, and we entered to find Harriet up to her eyes in books and stuffed animals. We had to excavate in layers to get her out!

  3. Jenn A permalink
    April 11, 2012 7:12 pm

    That’s great! Glad it is going well!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,044 other followers

