Skip to content

A Special Day for a Special Woman: Guest Post from Joe

April 25, 2012

Greetings from the Wild North, where the reign of the White Witch has come to an end and Aslan as is on the move (it’s been a lovely 66 degrees for weeks). Joe here, writing from the isolation of my empty cave. My little tribe is on pilgrimage for a few weeks and I’m doing my best to cope without delicious victuals, tickle fights, and familiar warmth on the other side of my bed.

But this post is not about me. Today is a special day in the Rigney house, and I have the great privilege of highjacking this blog and marking time with a list.

Today is my beautiful wife’s 30th birthday and it’s fitting that I as her husband rise up and express gratitude and love for an excellent wife and mother. So without further ado, here are 30 reasons that I love my wife and am filled with gratitude to God for her.

  1. She is my best friend
  2. She is the most beautiful woman that I’ve ever seen
  3. She gave me this little guy
  4. And this one
  5. God has given her incredible wisdom and insight into my life
  6. She’s not afraid to challenge me and push me to be the man that God wants me to be
  7. She is full of wisdom and kindness for her friends and my students
  8. She is a good friend who loves to make her friends feel special in very particular and concrete ways
  9. She followed me to Minnesota

10. She stays without complaining (despite the difficulty of being so far from family and friends in Texas)

11. She absolutely loves to make special days special; she is a creative genius about holidays

12. She is a fantastic cook (and she loves to feed people)

13. Her heart is bent and inclined toward generosity and giving; she can’t help but gladly share what she has

14. She provides a wonderful balance of affection and discipline for our boys

15. She regularly amazes me with her creativity with Sam and Peter

16. She works incredibly hard to make our household a place of joy and gratitude and fullness and life

17. She wakes up in the morning knowing who she is because she knows who God is

18. She is an incredible photographer and blogger; I’m so grateful that we’ll be able to remember our past in pictures and stories

19. She has a deep faith in God’s goodness and a winsome love for Jesus

20. She is a holy woman who hopes in God, and therefore doesn’t fear anything that is frightening (like submitting to and following a fellow sinner)

21. I never doubt that she’s in my corner. And with her in my corner, I can climb mountains, swim oceans, and kill dragons

22. She strives to make sure that we don’t neglect either of our sons

23. She is a model of wifely submission and respect for her husband

24. She has a fantastic sense of humor and is an incredible storyteller

25. She is a welcoming, inviting, and engaging person who loves to make others feel safe and at home

26. She is always thrilled to see our boys and loves to talk with them and read to them and pour herself out for them

27. She delights to follow my lead and loves when I step forward as the head of our household

28. She has a wonderful family who love and support us in countless ways

29. She is a praying wife and mother who intercedes for her family

30. She loves the word of God and is always looking for ways to weave it into our lives

And one to grow on…

31. She is my (little ‘r’) rock who always directs me to the Rock, who is Christ

Happy Birthday, Jen. You are an unfathomable gift to me, and I’m so grateful to God for you.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2012 11:40 am

    This is some awesome Proverbs 31:28 action. Thanks for sharing, Joe! Happy birthday, Jenny!!

  2. April 25, 2012 12:17 pm

    What a good good gift she is! Love you, Jen!!

  3. Gigi permalink
    April 25, 2012 12:27 pm

    Happy birthday to my 1st daughter :) Love you.

  4. April 25, 2012 2:53 pm

    Thank you for this list, Joe. As I was reading, I kept thinking, “Yes, yes yes!” Happy 30th, friend!

  5. Jenn A permalink
    April 25, 2012 5:56 pm

    =) Happy birthday!

  6. JenJen permalink
    April 30, 2012 9:36 am

    What a sweet, loving tribute!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,046 other followers

