Skip to content

mono on mother’s day

May 12, 2012

You’re technically not supposed to come down with mono twice, but according to my blood work results, I like to beat odds and prove the doctors wrong. The first time I had mono was seven years ago and it was accompanied with a severe case of strep. I had to quit my job and rest for three weeks (fine by me, I didn’t like the job much anyways).

This second time around, I have a bad case of strep, feel the need to rest for weeks, but quitting my job is not an option. I remember mono wiping me out years ago, but it’s harder now. I have the energy of a jaundiced newborn. I turn my head, I need to take an hour nap. I sit up, two hour nap. I get up to use the restroom, I’m down for the night. Those who’ve had mono will understand this, there’s just nothing like it. This is the most energy I’ve felt since Monday afternoon and I’m about to fall over on the keyboard.

Rest has been wonderful, though. Between naps, I’ve been able to listen to hours and hours worth of messages I’ve been itching to hear for some time, read The Hunger Games, and watch a few movies. God has provided practical help by way of friends caring for our boys (thank you, Becky and Kristin!), a wonderful homemade lasagna (thank you, James and Amelia!), and multiple offers from dear friends to help.

Perhaps the greatest gift of help (and undoubtedly the best Mother’s Day gift I could ask for) is that tomorrow afternoon, Joe will be picking my mom up from the airport to rescue me help me. This is just like something she would do.

I feel emptied of energy this Mother’s Day, but I am filled to the brim with thanksgiving.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2012 7:46 am

    I’m so glad your mom is coming! I’m glad I could help at least a little! Love you dear friend and happy mothers day. Get rest!

  2. Grammy permalink
    May 13, 2012 8:04 am

    Hope you get well soon. Lots of love from Texas!

  3. May 14, 2012 7:48 pm

    I will be praying that you get to feeling better soon, Jenny! I’m encouraged by your thankful heart, even in the midst of a physical lack of energy. :)

  4. Patti Alexander permalink
    May 15, 2012 2:13 pm

    You “HAVE” to be better by June 6-ish. I’m glad your Mom could come take care of you and your guys. And I am sooooo looking forward to meeting all of your sweet family.

  5. mlepitts permalink
    May 16, 2012 11:26 am

    i got mono when i was 7. then again as a junior in high school. and now as a 40 year old, i have to take a nap everyday because if i don’t and go go go for more than 4 or 5 days, i will get mono like symptoms again. the doctors shake their head at me, but i am fairly certain i have chronic mono. i know how to keep it at bay (the naps), but i wish it would just go away. :) i am a carrier, all my boyfriends got it soon after we started dating. poor guys.

    hugs, i know exactly how you’re feeling and it is not fun. rest! oh baths seem to help too.

  6. Danielle permalink
    January 25, 2013 8:19 pm

    I feel for you. Mono knocks all energy right out you. I remember the first time I got it as a young kid I could barely make it to the washroom and my mom had to wake me to eat and drink fluids, lasted around 2 or longer. But I will sadly inform you, as I was informed after my 3rd time getting it, Its a virus that stays in your body and just goes dormant. Its in the herpes family. Usually when you get it more than once its due to high stress or other illness thats weakened your immune system first.

    I just started following your blog and love your kids busy bags idea, will be using some for my 16mth old daughter.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,049 other followers

