Skip to content

Book Giveaway :: Father Hunger by Doug Wilson

May 17, 2012

Mother’s Day has come and gone and in just a few short weeks, we will be celebrating Father’s Day. In honor of this special day, Joe and I would like to give away two (hot off the press!) copies of:

Father Hunger: Why God Calls Men to Love and Lead Their Families by: Doug Wilson (father of Rachel Jankovic, author of Loving the Little Years)

Father Hunger is one of the best books on parenting and fatherhood that Joe and I have come across. We’re firm believers in the fact that everything is related because everything is related to God. And in Father Hunger, Wilson shows how fatherhood, in particular, relates to all things–from politics to economics to education to culture to the problem of evil, while still being rooted in the Bible (the chapter where he unpacks the vision of Fatherhood in the gospel of John is fantastic) and incredibly practical (see the chapter on the Mechanics of Fatherhood).

A few years ago, Joe and I were really blessed by listening to Wilson’s Father Hunger audio series and were thrilled when we learned that it was being turned into a book. One reason for this excitement, is that we wanted to be able to give this book away to others! Father Hunger ranks high on our short list of favorite parenting books and we hope you will be encouraged by it as well.

If you would like to win a copy, just leave a comment below by May 24th sharing one thing (or more if you’d like!) that you are grateful to God for about your husband, father, grandfather, or father figure in your life.

We will draw two names and announce the winners on Friday, May 25th.

Happy Commenting!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2012 8:33 am

    So thankful for my Husband’s compassionate heart and understanding love, a gift from God. The Lord is our rock as we journey together, growing daily.

    Blessings through Him who is Faithful,
    Karen

  2. May 17, 2012 9:43 am

    My husband does a good job of seeing the big picture, figuring out what needs to be done, and keeping us on course.

  3. Jennetcetera permalink
    May 17, 2012 10:48 am

    I am SO thankful that God has blessed my husband with wisdom! He often times is able to see the big picture when I get distracted in the details.

  4. May 17, 2012 11:50 am

    So very thankful the Lord made my husband good at everything I am bad at. His complement to me is not only something I LOVE but NEED as well. I also can’t wait to watch him fall into fatherhood this summer:)

  5. May 17, 2012 12:05 pm

    I didn’t know that Doug Wilson was Rachel’s father — between her and Nate Wilson, what a great, gifted family!

    I’m thankful for my husband’s God-centeredness. Like you said, everything is related because everything is related to God. My husband loves this, lives this, and helps me see this more & more.
    Also thankful for my dad, who is not (yet) a believer but is incredibly generous and hospitable. Though he wouldn’t acknowledge it, he reflects God’s lavish generosity to me in many ways.

    Thanks for the fun giveaway, Jenny & Joe!

  6. Allison permalink
    May 17, 2012 12:48 pm

    My dad has given me the gift of always looking to the Lord as his provider. This gift has shaped my view on seeing God as my ultimate provider and is just one of the many things I want to pass onto my son from my dad.

    My husband has given me the gift of what a servant looks like. He endlessly serves me and our son with joy. I know this is because my husband has the example of Jesus to follow.

  7. May 17, 2012 1:37 pm

    I’m thankful for my husband’s willingness and desire to provide for us. He is so faithful in his work and loves when he knows we are being taken care of.

  8. Jill permalink
    May 17, 2012 3:11 pm

    I am thankful for the way in which my husband leads our family with humility and honesty. It makes all the difference in the world!

  9. Amanda permalink
    May 18, 2012 5:57 am

    My dad is one of the most affectionate fathers I know. I am 26 and I still look forward to cuddling with him on the couch whenever I come home:).

    My husband is a great spiritual leader of our home. I love that I can call him at anytime and he will help me process parenting issues in light of the gospel. I experience such joy as I watch him teach our girls to pray and put their hope in God.

  10. May 18, 2012 7:37 am

    I am really thankful that my husband does the bedtime routine with our three kiddos-every night! He loves to wrestle, snuggle and play with them. He is very affectionate with them! He skips brushing their teeth way too often but more importantly he reads the Bible to them every night. And he doesn’t just read it, he explains it as he goes and makes sure that they understand what is going on. He always recaps from the night before, before getting started, to ensure they “grasp” the context. It’s neat to see the kids treasure this time with their Dad every night. So even when he misses supper from working late, they can alway rely on him spending time with them before bed.

  11. Britt T. permalink
    May 18, 2012 3:25 pm

    I’m thankful that my dad is generous with his time. Count me in please!

    brtucker89(at)gmail(dot)com

  12. Jana Rourk permalink
    May 18, 2012 4:37 pm

    I love my husband’s grace that he so generously pours out on me. And, I love my dad’s humor. Two great men in my life…I’m a lucky gal!

  13. May 19, 2012 8:39 pm

    I’m so thankful that my dad has always prayed for me…

  14. hallaspalace permalink
    May 20, 2012 5:27 am

    My husband the Provider: working 3 jobs to provide for us.
    My husband the Daddy: loving our children well and sharing Christ continually.
    My husband the Giver: of time, money and talent at every opportunity.
    My husband the Dedicated Servant: When duty calls no complaining. Another deployment and still thankful to serve our country.
    My husband the wonderful Husband: always wanting to hold my hand and love me like Christ loves his bride.
    My husband the Evangelist: “Pickin’ Chickin” at Chick-Fil-A and sharing with every customer that will allow him to speak.
    My husband the Learner: dedicated to learn every drop of knowledge about the bible from his professors.
    So so very grateful for my amazing husband, what a blessing he is for our family!

  15. Laura permalink
    May 20, 2012 1:01 pm

    Thankful to God for a husband who left a life of emptiness to respond to His call to ministry, who has led our family on a crazy journey 500 miles from “home” to follow that call, and who just completed his first year of seminary!

  16. Jo Lucy permalink
    May 20, 2012 5:13 pm

    I’m thankful for a father who (along with my mother) led me to Christ & helped me to follow the path that was set out for me.
    I’m thankful for a husband who supports me practically and emotionally, and who is a great father to our daughter.

  17. Amy permalink
    May 21, 2012 1:08 pm

    I’m so thankful for my husband who reminds me daily of Christ’s he forgiveness and Grace offered at the cross….the other day, he refused to let me get into the pit of self-pity and insisted a spend time reading Morning and Evening while he took care of our daughter and dinner, because I was feeling so overwhelmed with motherhood and life. I think this book would be such an encouragement to him in his endeavor to lead our family:o)

  18. Amy permalink
    May 22, 2012 8:43 am

    I am so thankful for my husband’s selflessness as he leads and takes care of our twin boys. He works hard during the day at his job and comes home ready to play with our boys and help out as needed. Sounds like this book would be such an encouragement to him!

  19. Emily permalink
    May 22, 2012 9:09 pm

    I am thankful for my dad. He’s someone that has always been there to tell me that he is proud of me and that he loves me.

    Yes, of course, our Father loves us far more than a man ever could, but it’s been a blessing to know that my earthly dad also loves me.

    He’s been a VERY big blessing of which I am VERY grateful to the Lord for. He knows what He’s doing!

  20. Danielle permalink
    May 24, 2012 12:13 pm

    It’s the 24th and I just discovered this – hope I make the cut. No biggie if not, I love to brag about my husband and praise God simultaneously:) I am so thankful for a husband who is not afraid to step up and be the leader in our family, even if it means telling me no=) I’m thankful he is prayful and so thoughtful about the decisions we make for our family – directions to take, future planning, and even every day mundane plans for getting household chores accomplished. God has truly blessed me far more abundantly than I ever could have dreamt myself. He is so good.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,049 other followers

