Skip to content

happy 3rd birthday, sam!

June 24, 2012

Today, dearest boy, you turn three years old. And when I close my eyes and think back on this day three years ago, the image that floods my mind the quickest is when our eyes locked for the very first time.

In an instant, I am right back at Abbott Northwestern Hospital having Dr. McKeand lay you on my chest. I was exhausted, and so were you, and I think we were both so relieved that you were finally here.

I love you, I love you, I love you…” were the only words I could bring myself to say when I first saw your face. And oh how my heart still aches with love for you…the child I thought I’d never have.

Every little thing about you, my Sam, is a gift- a grace in our lives. Your laughter, your heart, your smile, your silly ways, your sense of humor, your playfulness, your curiosity, your weaknesses, your big brother-ness, your imagination, your deep excitement over people, and your contagious love of life. It’s all grace.

On your third birthday, and always, I want you to be assured of a few things. First, you are a good and perfect gift from above. Secondly, your Daddy and I take great pleasure in having you as our son. And most importantly, you are loved completely by a perfect Father- who was delighted to create you. And every day, our gratitude to Him- for you- deepens.

So what are you like at three years old? I’ll let you tell us…

What day is today, Sam? “Sunday”

How old are you? “Three”

Who made you? “God”

Where do you live? “Minnesota”

What is your favorite thing to do with Daddy? “Wrestle”

What is your favorite thing to do with Mommy? “Climb the trees”

What is your favorite thing to do with Peter? “I want to wrestle with him!”

Who is your best friend? “You!” (Mommy)

What is your favorite book?“Everywhere Babies”

What character in a book do you like best? “Horton”

What Bible verse is your favorite? “All creatures of our God and King…” How does that song go?

What is your favorite thing to build? “Blocks!”

What is your favorite food to eat? “Strawberries”

What is your favorite thing to play? “Blocks”

Where do you love to visit? “Colin and Rylee” (Texas)

What song do you like to sing the most? “How great is your faithfulness”

If you could buy anything at the store, what would it be? “Suckers”

What is your favorite animal? “Camels”

If you could buy someone a gift, what would you buy and who would it be for? “I’d buy a BIG sucker for Mommy and for Daddy!”

What would you like to do when you grow up? “I’d like to be a grown man”

What do you enjoy doing outside? “I like to hit the ball!”

What holiday do you love celebrating? “Christmas tree”

What is your favorite restaurant? “The Boiling Pot”

What is your favorite special treat? “Suckers”

If you could be like anybody when you grow up, who would it be? “Sam”

What do you love most about being a big brother? “I like to eat M&Ms as a big brother”

What do you want to do today on your birthday? “Eat cupcakes!”

Happy 3rd Birthday, Samuel Jonathan! I doubt it’s possible to love you more.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenn A permalink
    June 24, 2012 7:57 am

    Such a sweet and precious gift! Happy birthday, Sam!!

  2. Jane Hyden permalink
    June 24, 2012 8:36 am

    What a blessing! Such a sweet smile and precious loving face. Happy Birthday, Sam. Three is a wonderful age to be.

  3. June 24, 2012 10:35 pm

    I cannot, cannot, cannot believe he is 3 years old. I love him so much. happy birthday little Sam

  4. June 25, 2012 4:09 pm

    wow. time has flown by! Happy Birthday, Sam!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,049 other followers

