Skip to content

more family, fishing, fun, and the fourth!

July 10, 2012

We are finishing up our time here this summer in Rockport, Texas and it has been an absolute whirlwind of fun.  This past week, we’ve kept very busy with Joe’s family, and have had a wonderful time!

While the Rigney family was here, we celebrated four birthdays, watched fireworks from the back porch on the 4th of July, spent time at the pool and Port Aransas beach, and went to a Corpus Christi Hooks baseball game (where Sam’s dreams came true and he was allowed to run the bases!).  The men spent their time fishing, golfing, grilling, and playing hours upon hours of gin rummy.  The ladies spent their time cooking, shopping, and visiting the Rockport Art Festival.

A highlight for me from this past week was driving around Key Allegro Island with my mother-in-law and having her show me the summer homes that Joe’s family has lived in throughout the years. Greta shared the story of how Joe’s great grandparents first began vacationing in Rockport 50+ years ago while I hung out the window and snapped pictures.  I felt like a news reporter or the paparazzi.  I enjoyed every minute of it!

Nothing pulls on my heart strings quite like hearing about my or Joe’s family history.  I loved getting to see the home that Sam and Peter’s great, great grandparents built on the island and await the day to share these stories with them as well. Joe’s family has been celebrating the 4th of July (in patriotic style as you will see below!) in Rockport for many, many years.  It’s a tradition we feel honored to keep alive.

I call this picture, “Birth Order”…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Patti Alexander permalink
    July 11, 2012 11:29 am

    Thank you so much for sharing the pictures. You are such a talented artist.

  2. Gigi permalink
    July 11, 2012 2:20 pm

    Had a wonderful week. Love to all of you.

  3. July 11, 2012 9:29 pm

    love this jen!

  4. Crystal permalink
    July 18, 2012 10:27 am

    Jenny,

    I have been following your blog for a couple of months and your posts are so wonderful. Our babies are some what close in age and my hubby and I have been talking about vacationing this year with both of the girls, a 2 year old and a 4 month old. Your recent posts on Rockport have peaked my interest since we live in San Antonio. I was wondering if you have any recommendations for homes to rent for about a week and any places where my girls will have fun. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks so much for sharing your family with mine.

    Crystal Miller

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,043 other followers

