Skip to content

my one bit of parenting advice

July 27, 2012

At the time this picture was taken, a bit of a lunch explosion had just taken place.

There was a fresh pint of blackberries smeared to jam all over the dining room and kitchen floor.  Milk was flowing freely from the land of Highchair and Sippy Cup.  Macaroni and Cheese was taking up residence on the walls, floors, chairs, table, and from head to toe on the culprit himself.  It was enough to give one the Mom Sweats.

I felt the frustration starting to creep in, and I remembered a little parenting lesson in housekeeping that I began learning one child ago. And it is this:

Take a picture.

I’m amazed at how quickly my perspective can change (for the better) in a situation when I look at it through the lens of a camera- through the lens of a future memory.

My camera was out and I began snapping away.  And in no time, I was joining in the fun and laughing at what really was a funny little scene.  The mess faded (figuratively, not literally) and I was enjoying my son.

So here’s to getting our cameras out of our bags and out of their cases and setting them out where we can grab them quickly!  And here’s to showing our kids that they matter more than a spotless house.

Because here’s the thing, the mess is all cleaned up now.  And no doubt, it will be there again tomorrow.  And the next day.  And the next.  But there will come a day when these little men of mine leave home and I’ll be wishing all the messy days weren’t over.

It will be bittersweet.  But I’ll be glad I have the pictures to help me remember.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gigi permalink
    July 27, 2012 3:47 pm

    You are so right. They will leave and all you will have are the photos. But then they get together with their brothers at the Boiling Pot and fight over the crawfish and the mess begins again. Ahhh the life when you have boys.!!!

  2. July 28, 2012 2:03 pm

    I love it! I can’t remember the last time my camera made it to my camera bag. It’s alway sitting out, ready for use, and I have ended up with some wonderful photos I may otherwise have missed.

  3. Susie Tiemeyer permalink
    July 28, 2012 8:29 pm

    You are wise beyond your years, Jenny!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,046 other followers

