Skip to content

a spoonful of cinnamon

August 29, 2012

You know when you tweak and tweak and tweak a recipe to fit your family’s preference until you finally feel that it can’t be improved upon? There are only a few recipes that I feel that way about and this is definitely one of them.

Want to know the secret ingredient (besides a Southern amount of butter) that makes these chocolate chip cookies so delicious? A spoonful of cinnamon. It truly makes all the difference!

I like to double the recipe below, bake two dozen, and roll the other few dozen into balls and freeze them for later. It’s nice to be able to just pull out a few cookies to bake whenever you want instead of having to prepare a large batch every time.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

Heat oven to 375 degrees.

In a large bowl or stand-up mixer, beat sugars, butter, vanilla and egg on medium speed.  Mix in flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt. Stir in chocolate chips.

On a lightly greased cookie sheet (or Silpat), drop medium to large-sized spoonfuls of dough about two inches apart.

Bake 8 minutes or until light brown (centers will be soft). Cool 1 to 2 minutes and enjoy until you need to put on a pair of stretchy pants!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2012 12:47 pm

    mmm, i will be making these.

    • therigneys permalink*
      August 29, 2012 9:40 pm

      Pregnancy craving, Beck?!

  2. August 29, 2012 2:13 pm

    YUM!!! Wish I had one now!

    • therigneys permalink*
      August 29, 2012 9:40 pm

      Come see me and I’ll make you a batch ;)

  3. Jenn A permalink
    August 29, 2012 5:28 pm

    Oh yeah! Cinnamon with chocolate….yep….good!

    • therigneys permalink*
      August 29, 2012 9:41 pm

      I know, right! I’m going to start sprinkling it in my hot chocolate!

  4. August 29, 2012 9:07 pm

    Thanks, Jen! I am always looking for a good recipe for THE PERFECT Chocolate Chip Cookies. : )

    • therigneys permalink*
      August 29, 2012 9:42 pm

      You are welcome, Sarah! And please let me know how you like them!

  5. August 30, 2012 2:32 am

    This is the exact recipe my mom always used–the “original tollhouse recipe”–except of course, for the **brilliant** addition of cinnamon. (and the original calls for a whole tsp. of salt). I always thought it couldn’t be improved upon, but I am happy to be wrong! I only wish you had posted this two days ago, as I just used our last treasured bag of choc chips from the states to make cookies YESTERDAY. (Where were you when I needed you?!)

    And I love you.

    • therigneys permalink*
      August 30, 2012 7:48 am

      I love that me and your mom like the same kind of cookies! However, the original recipe for this cookie didn’t come from toll house- it came from an old Betty Crocker cook book that I have, but maybe they are very similar! And sometimes, when I double the recipe I like to add just a tad bit more butter than it calls for ;)

      • August 30, 2012 8:52 am

        Two words: PAULA and DEAN.

        I actually use half shortening and half butter to keep the cookies from flattening out too much in my oven. Seriously, we should write a book on this, huh?

        • therigneys permalink*
          August 30, 2012 9:45 am

          Oh dear sweet, Paula Dean. Maybe I should cut back on the butter since she is now a diabetic? And shortening, Bets? I would never have thought you to use shortening! You seem like you’d be butter all the way!

          • August 31, 2012 10:26 am

            You wrong me, Brutus, every way you wrong me. I love shortening and what it does for my pastry! But seriously, I was having troubles with the too-flat cookie thing until I took my (genius) mommy’s advice and put in half shortening. And my troubles were over. (Saves money too–seriously, who can afford butter?? I need to save my butter money for the butter that I eat plain by-the-stick county-fair fashion.)

            • August 31, 2012 10:27 am

              0-P.S. are you saying I’m fat?

            • therigneys permalink*
              August 31, 2012 11:39 am

              Oh this is too funny! Brutus?! I had a good chuckle. Now, before you take offense, Bets, know that two of the fluffiest cookie makers I’ve ever known in my life both use shortening. I’m certainly not judging, I was just surprised a bit, that’s all. I didn’t think you’d be a fan of the flavor. But, like you, I’m not a fan of flat cookies either, that’s why I love this recipe. Just the right amount of flour and softened butter to make them fluffy, a bit crispy on the outside and oh-so-gooey on the inside. And am I saying you are fat?! Certainly not! But your stomach does seem to be sticking out these days. Wonder why? Too many cookies, I bet! :) Love you.

  6. August 30, 2012 9:44 am

    I’m totally making these. ASAP. I need chocolate chip cookies always in my life.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,039 other followers

