Skip to content

why did God create THIS world?

October 2, 2012

This past weekend, my husband filled the pulpit at our church while our pastor was preaching at the Desiring God National Conference.

I’ve heard my husband preach and teach countless times in the past eight years, but never have I been more encouraged, or ministered to, by one of his messages than I was this past weekend.

Here is the video, audio, and manuscript of his sermon if you’d like to have a listen.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2012 7:43 pm

    I came to visit Bethlehem this past Sunday to hear your husband speak and it was so good. I felt encouraged and gladdened even by the sorrowing parts…I am thankful that God has made him to speak true and beautiful things and that he has you to love him and walk with him while he works to learn and practice his craft. (-:

  2. Pete Smith permalink
    October 3, 2012 7:00 am

    Such a beautiful message! Particularly in trying to bring comfort to those suffering the loss of a child.

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. Pete Smith permalink
    October 3, 2012 7:04 am

    p.s. Does this mean that Piper CAN go to a Twins game?

    Sent from my iPhone

  4. Penny Kipp permalink
    October 3, 2012 7:39 am

    I couldn’t get the audio or the video on my iPhone, so I read the manuscript. I thought it was a wonderful sermon. It really spoke to me and reminded me to be thankful for the wonderful love gifts He gives us. I plan to get on my computer and listen again to this message, although I “heard” it through the manuscript loud and clear. Thank you joe and jen!

  5. October 3, 2012 11:18 am

    Incredibly ministered to by this sermon. So thankful for you guys!

  6. October 3, 2012 12:32 pm

    Cried through parts of the sermon, but touched so deeply by the overall message. Enjoy the gifts, no matter how big or small they are.

  7. Susie Tiemeyer permalink
    October 3, 2012 4:03 pm

    I too have often wondered about that tension in which we live every day. How much enjoyment is too much? Am I getting my eyes off of the Giver and on to the gift?

    Wonderfully and thoughtfully delivered sermon…we need you guys here at Sagemont!

  8. October 18, 2012 5:29 pm

    We have two families in our life who are struggling with losing a child. This sermon was a huge blessing to us as we love on them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 991 other followers

