Skip to content

state fair!

September 5, 2009

IMG_5094

We LOVE the State Fair.

It is the closest thing we can find to a Texas Rodeo!

We were so excited to take Sam with us this year.  It was the best nap of his life.

Here’s our little “Riglet”…

IMG_5105

Sam naturally gravitated towards the dairy cows, after all that is where the milk is…

IMG_5112

I think Joe and I wait all year just for this…

IMG_5137

Best. Corn. Ever.

IMG_5126

We took Sam to the Miracle of Birth Center and let him watch the birth of some farm animals.  Not really.  He is too young, we think it would have scarred him.  However, we did show him all the little baby animals that had been born earlier in the week…

IMG_5230

IMG_5231

IMG_5223

IMG_5237

When Sam gets old enough to appreciate having a pet, my vote is for a little pig.  I’m not kidding.  I think they are a cute alternative to a puppy.  They reminded me of how I wanted to be “Fern” from “Charlotte’s Web” when I was little.  I’m pretty sure our piglet would know how to spell as well.

After visiting the Swine, Cattle, & Horse barn, eating our way through a couple ears of corn, and visiting all the baby animals, we spent the rest of the evening sitting on the grass and watching the Minnesota County Talent Show Winners compete against each other.  I was counting on my hands how many Reba McEntire songs we heard.  I usually try to protect my son from cheesy country music lyrics, but for some reason… Sam seemed to enjoy himself a little Reba…

IMG_5219

We had a great time at the fair, we can’t wait to take Sam back when he is a little older and can do more than just lounge around in the grass….

IMG_5197

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy Smith permalink
    September 5, 2009 4:36 pm

    No fair!! I want to go to the fair too!
    Love you,Rigneys
    Sassy

  2. Allison Lyles permalink
    September 7, 2009 8:58 pm

    I’m sooo proud. Look at you so dedicated to educating your boy on the importance of agriculture in the family. Wow! Please write that in the parenting book you will pass down to me, o wise ones! Can’t wait to see yall in a couple of weeks!
    love you!

Leave a Reply

