Skip to content

my morning

February 8, 2011

I woke up this morning with a list…

  • Make four batches of salsa.
  • Finish two loads of laundry.
  • Clean out and organize the pantry.

If I finished this list before noon, I had an additional list of things I wanted to accomplish this afternoon while Sam was napping.

  • Mop the wood floors.
  • Start making Valentines Day cards.
  • Read book for book club.
  • Prep for dinner.

Sometimes I wonder if I forget that I have a very curious and active little toddler when making these particular to-do lists of mine?

The salsa was finished and chilling in the fridge. I had my first load of laundry going in the wash.  I had almost all of my pantry items cleared out and was wiping down the shelves.  I was feeling really productive, checking items off my list one by one.

Then all of a sudden, I hear the noise of a thousand, tiny, ball-shaped sprinkles being dumped all over my kitchen floor.  I nervously looked up and found this…

And this…

It’s at times like this that I try and tell myself optimistically, “Don’t get mad, just grab your camera. Sam might use these pictures in his wedding slideshow.” And then I start thinking about him getting married one day, get a little emotional, and forget about my lists altogether.

I mean, how could I get mad at a face like this?

After playing and eating the sprinkles for a good 20 minutes (including feeding each of Sam’s animals their portion of the sprinkles), they were everywhere…Sam’s feet, hands, bottom, and face to name a few places.

I had to laugh a bit when I told Sam that  it was time to clean up.  I looked down to find him picking up each individual sprinkle and putting them back in the tupperware…

No, Sam, this is what I mean by cleaning up…

It is now 8:45 PM.  My first load of laundry is in the dryer and the second load is sitting in the wash, far from being folded or hung up.  The pantry was not cleaned out by noon, more like 7:30 this evening.  There were no Valentines Day cards made today or pages read in The Scarlet Pimpernel.  And the wood floors are most definitely not mopped.

I’m sitting on the couch, exhausted from a day of cleaning, cooking, fishing Sam’s pacifier out of the toilet, and picking little sprinkles out from in between my toes.  The lists I made this morning almost seem comical now considering how my day actually panned out.

However, there are two things I know for sure at the end of this day…

1.) My house is a wreck, but the salsa tastes great!

2.) There is no one else I’d rather spend my crazy, non-productive days with than this little guy…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. liz permalink
    February 9, 2011 7:32 am

    Oh my!! I had no words when I saw these pictures!! You are a saint…and those tears you shed/?? I don’t need to tell you what I’m thinking!! 🙂

    Way to have a positive attitude and realistic expectations!!

    Enjoy today!!

  2. Cathy Hipps permalink
    February 9, 2011 8:00 am

    Jenny, I admire your optimism at the beginning of the day. And you DID get two things done on your list. I call that success!!!! Can’t say the same for my list which, you may recall, is on the side of my fridge just waiting to be checked off.

    Hope you get a couple of more things done on that list today. (Maybe Sam will help you. Tee Hee!)

    Love,
    Mama Hipps

  3. Kristin permalink
    February 9, 2011 2:08 pm

    Love it. That is how I want my mentality to be all the time – I can drop it all (or at least, most of it!) to play with my boy if I need to! These years are so precious, and our boys are so sweet.

  4. Sandy Smith permalink
    February 9, 2011 4:42 pm

    Love the way he is looking at the sprinkles on the floor! He’s so curious!!

  5. February 9, 2011 6:44 pm

    I have so many comments on this post that i don’t know where to begin! Here’s just a few:
    1. I refuse to believe that your perfect photogenic pantry needed to be cleaned out.
    B. I LOVE your salsa. Too bad Rotel hasn’t hit the UK yet
    C. Sam is adorable. Adorable. And so are you.
    4. We all know the purpose of a list is to make you feel productive, not to get things done. So you succeeded.
    6. This may be my favorite post of yours EVER
    E. I love it that you let him sit there and play in it and eat it and everything else for twenty minutes! You are a stronger woman than I. My kid would have been in the tub and the scrubbing process begun by minute three. And it would have turned into No Fun for anyone.
    F. I came to your blog burned out to the core after weeks of sick kids and a night in the hospital–I leave your blog feeling glad to be a mommy and ready for tomorrow (which is coming in four hours–better hold off on the other ten comments I wanted to make.)

Leave a comment