Skip to content

read-alouds for january 2013

January 31, 2013

It has been the perfect month to curl up on the couch with a big stack of books and read to our hearts content. Both boys have been battling a long bout of sickness (along with the rest of the country, apparently) and we’ve had a few stretches of some really steep drops in temperature leaving us at home almost every day. We’ve not been able to visit the library, but we’ve had plenty of time to pull out some of our old and new favorite reads, many of which were gifts for the boys’ library this past Christmas. We’ve been reading a few of our poetry books (almost daily) to the boys and I love that even little Peter seems to like these books the best.

Bently, Peter & Helen Oxenbury. King Jack and the Dragon

Brown, Marcia. Stone Soup

Brumbeau, Jeff. The Quiltmaker’s Gift

Carlstrom, Nancy. Jesse Bear What Will You Wear?

Emberley, Barbara. Drummer Hoff

Groce, Mandy. What is the Church?

Hall, Donald. Ox-Cart Man

Hoberman, Mary Ann. The Cozy Book

Hoberman, Mary Ann. A House is A House for Me

Hoberman, Mary Ann. The Llama Who had No Pajama: 100 Favorite Poems

Hoberman, Mary Ann. The Seven Silly Eaters

Hughes, Shirley. The Big Alfie and Annie Rose Storybook

Hughes, Shirley. Rhymes for Annie Rose

Leaf, Munro. The Story of Ferdinand

Scanlon, Liz Garton. All the World

Silverstein, Shel. The Giving Tree

Spinelli, Eileen. Silly Tilly

Willems, Mo. Should I Share my Ice Cream?

Notes:

We read lots of Hoberman and Hughes this month (two of my very favorite authors) and pulled out some old favorites that we can’t stay away from too long. The most requested read-aloud was King Jack and the Dragon, which came as no surprise to me. Both boys have always really enjoyed this book and I can be sure to get lots of requests for fort-building as soon as we finish the last page. A new book we enjoyed this month (and recommend as well!) was What is the Church? I first heard about this little gem from my friend, Haley, who reviewed it on her blog. I think we’ll be pulling this book out again and again throughout the years as the boys’ understanding of the church deepens. My personal favorite from this month (and will continue to be for a lifetime, I’m sure) was The Quiltmaker’s Gift. I really can’t say enough wonderful things about this book. I found myself completely engrossed in the story and amazed by the beautiful and intricate illustrations. Even after the boys were down for their naps, I pulled it out again to enjoy. I now have another book to add to my list of gifts to give. Read it soon if you haven’t before.

For a complete list of our read-aloud booklists, hop on over here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 31, 2013 9:40 am

    So many of our favorites are on this list! I reviewed the Quiltmaker’s Gift a year and a half ago, but Anna was too young for it then so I never read it to her. I think it’s time to fix that!

    We just started exploring the world of short chapter books (alongside picture books, of course! we will never abandon picture books!) and are finding it to be oh so delightful. Have you done any of those yet?

Leave a Reply

