Skip to content

welcome to the 90’s

February 12, 2013

I’ve been in bed all day long sipping on ice cold coke through a straw and munching slowly on buttered toast. This stomach bug thing that’s been swarming around the states landed in our home last week. First Peter, then Joe, and now me.

I thought I’d take this lazy day of resting to catch up on the many moments I’ve passed up blogging about in the past few months.

I could write about Joe’s 30th birthday parties, but that was in November and he is almost 31 now, right? I could write about Christmas with both families in Texas, but we are gearing up for Valentine’s Day around here and Christmas just feels very two months ago. I could write about the books I’m reading or the thoughts I’m thinking, but I have the mental energy of buttered toast.

Instead, I’m going to write about a very recent development in my life.  One that I fear might provoke envy in some of you when I share it, but for the sake of your own soul, I’m asking that you fight the good fight and do not succumb to the temptations of comparison or self-pity. Remember, comparison is the thief of all joy, okay?

I’ve been given the very special opportunity that some are only given once in a lifetime, but very few are ever given it twice.  Are you ready?

I’m getting braces.

Dear reader, I know that you, too, wish you could channel the Jr.High version of yourself in your thirties, with just the prayer of getting to wear a headgear at night, but not everyone can have everything they want in life.  No. No they cannot.  Only a certain few.

Friend, not everyone can have what is called a “traumatic bite” which causes their top teeth and their bottom teeth to sit directly on top of each other.  Not everyone gets to cause damage to their teeth, jaw bone, and gum line just by smiling or chewing their food.  No, dear friend, only the special ones get to have braces in 8th and 25th grade.

I know it might be challenging, but please find it in your heart to be happy for me.  And if you really want, I can call you “Brace Face ” from time to time just to soften the blow.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2013 9:03 pm

    i love your voice. you write just as you speak and you make me smile and laugh so much. looking forward to your new smile 😉

  2. February 12, 2013 10:25 pm

    this is fantastic. you are fantastic. braces ROCK 🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. February 12, 2013 10:31 pm

    Love this. Dom and I both belly laughed several times.

  4. Jenn A permalink
    February 13, 2013 6:40 am

    If it makes you feel any better, a good friend of mine got braces in her 40’s – I think that would be the 35th grade. =) Your smile will be even more beautiful. You can compare braces experiences with Aiden and Karsten too. Karsten just got his last month.
    Hope you are well soon!

  5. Patti Alexander permalink
    February 13, 2013 12:40 pm

    Faith Hill is copying you. How fun it that?
    I didn’t notice anything wrong w/your teeth when I saw that gorgeous smile of yours.

    • therigneys permalink*
      February 13, 2013 1:03 pm

      Thanks, Patti! My dentist said that my teeth are “perfectly straight” (since I already have had braces once!), the braces are to realign my jawbone and my bite. Hopefully this will help with some of my migraines!

      • Lindsey Carroll Kimble permalink
        February 19, 2013 12:40 am

        I can actually hear you saying this entire blog out loud. Im sorry but I am laughing. You are too funny! I was always jealous of your beautiful smile. Your teeth are movie quality. Sorry to hear you have to go through braces again! !!

Leave a Reply

