Skip to content

book club selections :: 2013-2014

March 26, 2013

Last night, my book group met for the fourth year in a row to select our reads for the 2013-2014 season.  It looked like a small library exploded in my living room.

One friend recorded our suggestions and sent me the list afterwards.  Together, ten women brought over 50 fifty titles to choose from. And if I didn’t read at the pace of a preschooler, I might actually try to read all of them over the next couple of years.  I’m setting reasonable expectations for myself though, and that is to read and enjoy the twelve books listed below.

I’m really excited about the mix of books this year.  They will all be new to me except for The Count of Monte Cristo  (which I read in highschool and loved) and For the Family’s Sake (which I’ve read often over the years and always found it worth my time).

I leave these nights with my book group feeling really thankful.  Thankful for years worth of books stored away in my memory, books that I may never have read.  Thankful for wonderful, accessible, and cheap books (thank you, Kindle).  And most importantly, I’m thankful for bookish friends to read alongside.  Friends who are different in various ways, but can come together once a month and prove that Edmund Wilson was right when he said, “No two persons ever read the same book.”

Book Club Selections 2013-2014

June: The Exact Place, by Margie L. Haack

July: Unbroken, by Laura Hillenbrand

August: Outliers, by Malcolm Gladwell

September: Evangellyfish, by Douglas Wilson

October: For the Family’s Sake, by Susan Schaeffer Macaulay

November: From Fear to Freedom, by Rose Marie Miller

December: The Double Bind, by Chris Bohjalian

January: A Praying Life, by Paul Miller

February: The Count of Monte Cristo, by Alexandre Dumas

March: Home, by Marilynne Robinson

April: At Home, by Bill Bryson

May: The Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, by Jamie Ford

If you are interested to see what we’ve read in years past…

Book Club Selections :: 2012-2013

Book Club Selections :: 2011-2012

Book Club Selections :: 2010-2011

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

