Skip to content

read-alouds for march 2013

April 8, 2013

Frost, Robert.  Stopping by the Woods on a Snowy Evening

Hildegarde, H Swift.  The Little Red Lighthouse and the Great Gray Bridge

McCully, Emily.  Mirette on the High Wire

Matsuno, Masako.  A Pair of Red Clogs

Mills, Lauren.  The Rag Coat

Provensen, Alice.  The Glorius Flight

Priceman, Marjorie.  How to Make an Apple Pie and See the World

Rylant, Cynthia.  When I was Young in the Mountains

Yolen, Jane.  Owl Moon 

Notes:

Our favorite from this month’s stack was Priceman’s How to Make an Apple Pie and See the World, which makes me want to check out How to Make a Cherry Pie and See the U.S.A. next.  And since we were still getting snow in March, we really enjoyed Stopping by the Woods on a Snowy Evening, a beautifully illustrated poem by Robert Frost.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2013 2:42 pm

    Reading through the Five in a Row books, I see! We actually just started FIAR this week at home. Are you just using it as a booklist resource?

    • therigneys permalink*
      April 11, 2013 12:56 pm

      Hi, Haley! Right now I’m using a bunch of different booklists to get recommendations and FIAR (and Before FIAR) have been great for that! I’m not “officially” starting FIAR until the fall. I’ve been having fun gathering books, ideas, and resources for us to begin (and my mom just mailed me my childhood copy of “Jenny’s Surprise Summer” that is out of print!) . I’m really looking forward to it!

      Would love to hear how you and Anna are enjoying it!

  2. April 11, 2013 8:18 am

    I am wondering the same thing Haley is! We’ve read all those books this year- let me know if you need ideas/resources. I hope you made apple pie and ate Japanese food and made paper airplanes….

    • therigneys permalink*
      April 11, 2013 1:00 pm

      M- of course I want your ideas! You are my mentor of mentors for educating my children! 🙂

  3. April 18, 2013 10:20 pm

    Jenny, I love that you are reading Owl Moon. My dad used to read it to me when I was little and then we would go owling late at night. One of my most favorite memories from when I was little.

    And, I am so thrilled that you will be leading MOMS with Megan next year.

  4. Sarah fremont permalink
    May 17, 2013 7:44 pm

    Hello! Love your list. Do you find all your books at the library? p.s. I met you at Hand in Hand with my daughter Elinor, but now I live in Austin, TX!!!
    Blessings! Sarah

  5. Jeana permalink
    May 21, 2013 9:44 am

    I have to say, i have read your blog for about the past three years. I don’t comment much, but it’s troubling me, the fact that you haven’t posted in your blog in over a month. I think it’s very uncharacteristic of you, and i’m beginning to worry.

Leave a Reply

