Skip to content

testing…testing…is this on?

May 24, 2013

Ahem…

It’s been almost two months since I last updated.  My absence on the blogosphere has not been for the lack of things to share or stories to put to pen, but for lack of the actual device needed for blogging: my computer.

A little over a month ago, we had an unfortunate incident take place at our home in which my brand new computer (and all that goes with it) was stolen from our kitchen during the middle of the night.

Perhaps I watched too much “Rescue 911” as a kid (anyone else with me?), but I was sorely disappointed when an FBI squad did not show up at my front door with orange tape and a fingerprinting kit.

Instead, to my dismay, a single policeman stopped by to take a quick look around our house and jotted down the serial number of my computer.  After all, he needed to give the local pawn shops a heads up. Oh William Shatner, where were you when I needed you!

A dear friend was at our house when Joe and I realized what had happened.  I’m thankful, because she made me laugh by gently reminding me that we do in fact live in a big city and that our police force is probably very busy fighting more serious crimes than a stolen Mac.  And she was right.  But there is just something so unsettling about an intruder in your home while your babies sleep in the next room, isn’t there?  And that’s where the real rub came- not so much in the loss of a computer, but in the loss of some measure of peace and security that we all hope to feel inside of our homes.  Looking back, I think I took it for granted.

Fast-forward a little over a month and here I am today, writing on my newly replaced computer. And the beautiful story of how God provided for us and ministered to us through his people is deserving of its’ own post entirely, which it will get- sometime soon.  Along with many other stories and pictures and memories that have been stored away in my heart and mind these past two months.

As time allows, I will share.  But for now, consider this post a stepping back up to the mic to check if we’re still on and if anyone out there is listening.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Liz Holst permalink
    May 24, 2013 9:09 pm

    I”m here!! 🙂 And listening…

  2. Sandy Smith permalink
    May 24, 2013 9:14 pm

    I’ve been waiting!!! So glad you’re blogging again.

  3. May 24, 2013 9:20 pm

    Glad you are back blogging and so sorry to hear about your misfortune. Glad all has worked out. Have a great Memorial Day Weekend. Paige

  4. Stephanie Kalbfleisch permalink
    May 24, 2013 9:22 pm

    so glad ur back! and for the Lord’s safety and provision!

  5. Sarah permalink
    May 24, 2013 9:50 pm

    Present. 🙂

  6. Susie Tiemeyer permalink
    May 24, 2013 10:08 pm

    Oh yes…so glad you’re back at it!

  7. May 24, 2013 10:22 pm

    I’m here, present and accounted for, you can start! So glad your computer is replaced, so sorry about what happened to you.

  8. bonnie permalink
    May 24, 2013 11:03 pm

    “here!!” glad you’re back!

  9. May 24, 2013 11:27 pm

    you know I’m always listening!!

    I fully understand the loss of peace and security from a break in. it still bothers me to this day. praying for you, friend.

  10. May 25, 2013 6:50 am

    present…been waiting patiently for your return. I’ve missed your bright and sunny blogs that inspire and make me feel happy,happy,happy!

  11. Amy L permalink
    May 25, 2013 7:34 am

    Glad to have you back. Sorry that happened to you but glad everyone is safe.

  12. May 25, 2013 7:37 am

    Oh wow… Sorry about your computer! I’m with you on the Rescue 911 episodes. Maybe if you had gotten your tongue stuck to the ice maker in the freezer or if a tractor fell on you, the police would have showed a little more concern. 🙂

  13. Penny Kipp permalink
    May 25, 2013 7:57 am

    Happy, happy! You are on here!

  14. Anne permalink
    May 25, 2013 4:40 pm

    I love reading your blog, glad your back online!

  15. Gudrun permalink
    May 25, 2013 7:07 pm

    here….and listening, wondered about your silence. Thanking God for protection over you all.

  16. Jenn A permalink
    May 27, 2013 9:16 pm

    absolutely. Here and listening. Glad all of you are safe and you are back at it.

  17. Jeana permalink
    May 28, 2013 9:45 am

    You’re back!! Yay!! Today, my world feels a little more complete, knowing that your family is safe.

  18. April 2, 2017 7:29 am

    Never would have thunk I would find this so inspniesdable.

Leave a Reply

